Freshly Baked Apple Cake

I just had to get started somewhere. I’ve been so busy studying and I had to start a school blog so I left this one to stagnate. I now feel, however, that it is time there were some recipes here.

It is the beginning of autumn now, and since we have apple trees in our garden we have an abundance of apples. This – as you know – leads to many apple deserts. My favourite  recipe this season, due to its ease, is a very tasty, fluffy, moist … you guessed it… apple cake.

I have tried it with less sugar and oil and it turns out fine. So if you are concerned with excess calories or  sugar, there is a possibility to cut down on both.

Also, if you are not to hot on spice cakes – like me – I would recommend cutting the cinnamon down to 2 teaspoons. I tried the recipe once with 4 teaspoons but no one in my family liked it.

The recipe calls for 5 apples – which I love – as that makes the cake very fruity. The apples being sliced rather than chopped also ensures that the apple is spread evenly throughout the cake.

Here is the recipe:

Sliced Apple Cake 

Ingredients 

  • 5 apples – peeled, cored and sliced (medium)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 teaspoons ground cinnamon (I use 2)
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups white sugar (can cut down to 1 ¾)
  • 1 cup vegetable oil (can cut down to 3/4)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 4 teaspoons white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Sliced apple (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) lightly grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan.
  2. Sift together flour, salt, cinnamon and baking powder. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, beat eggs and sugar for 15 minutes on high speed with an electric mixer. Add oil and blend in. (Note: I don’t have a blender at the moment so I just whisk it by hand till my arm gets tired and then again after adding the oil.)
  4. Add four mixture and mix well. Add vanilla. Fold in apples and nuts. Pour batter into 9×13 inch pan.
  5. In a small bowl, mix 4 teaspoons sugar with 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Sprinkle over cake.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 50 to 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into center of cake comes out clean. (Note: I found that 50 minutes is enough to cook it – longer and it turns out to dry.)
Well, I hope that’s useful. I’ll try to be consistent and add a post every Friday after trying my recipe for the week.
I just love it how my little 3 year old son adores my cakes. I literally have to hide the cake from him when I think he’s had enough. We make a happy family -me baking and all of us enjoying eating my cakes together.
About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Apple deserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Freshly Baked Apple Cake

  1. Victoria says:

    I think I’ll have to try this one during the week. I’ll let you know how I go.
    – Victoria

    Like

  2. Victoria says:

    Finaly got around to making your apple cake, it was desert for a dinner we had with David Shah and it was LOVELY. Will make it again!

    Like

How do you like it?

