Hot and Healthy Tortilla Wraps

I cann’t help it… I have to add another recipe – Hot and Healthy Tortilla Wraps.

I needed a recipe for dinner today and I didn’t have much time to plan. I wanted to do something with eggs since I had about 60 eggs in my fridge. I looked up egg recipes on the internet and the first one I read was called “Southwestern Egg Rolls”. As it turns out it had nothing to do with eggs … but I liked it anyway.

It is a crunchy, savoury, meat, cheese, and vegetable filled wrap – hot and perfect on a cold day – or a rainy or snowy day. Actually on a warm day it would still be great because of the cool cheese dip we ate along with it.

It is easy and not very time consuming – unless you are slow in the kitchen like me. I actually doubled the recipe and it was enough for 3 adults and 2 children. We are not very big eaters, however, so if you are moderately big eaters then I would say it is enough for 3 adults when doubled.

Having a dip along with the wraps is very important. At first I wanted to find a new recipe but found I didn’t have the ingredients for any of them so I just made my own cream cheese dip that I make every time we eat Tortilla chips.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 skinless, boneless chicken breast half (about 150 g)
  • 2 tablespoons minced green onion
  • 2 tablespoons minced red bell pepper (I didn’t have any)
  • 1/3 cup frozen corn kernels (I used canned corn)
  • 1/4 cup black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 tablespoons frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  • 2 tablespoons diced jalapeno peppers
  • 1/2 tablespoon minced fresh parsley (I used frozen parsley)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin (I didn’t have any)
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder (I didn’t have any)
  • 1/3 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pinch ground cayenne pepper
  • 3/4 cup shredded Monterey Jack cheese (I used Mozzarella cheese)
  • 5 (6 inch) flour tortillas (I used 3 12 inch tortillas) (note: In place of the tortillas I think you can use any kind of flat bread such as egg roll wrappers or chapatis.)
  • 1 quart oil for deep frying (I baked them for about 13minutes instead)

Directions

  1. Rub 1 tablespoon vegetable oil over chicken breast. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, cook chicken approximately 5 minutes per side, until meat is no longer pink and juices run clear. Remove from heat and set aside.
  2. Heat remaining 1 tablespoon vegetable oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in green onion and red pepper. Cook and stir 5 minutes, until tender.
  3. Dice chicken and mix into the pan with onion and red pepper. Mix in corn, black beans, spinach, jalapeno peppers, parsley, cumin, chili powder, salt and cayenne pepper. Cook and stir 5 minutes, until well blended and tender. Remove from heat and stir in Monterey Jack cheese so that it melts.
  4. Wrap tortillas with a clean, lightly moist cloth. Microwave on high approximately 1 minute, or until hot and pliable.(Note: I skipped out this step as I baked them instead.)
  5. Spoon even amounts of the mixture into each tortilla. Fold ends of tortillas, then roll tightly around mixture. Secure with toothpicks. (Note: I didn’t need tooth picks.) Arrange in a medium dish, cover with plastic, and place in the freezer. Freeze at least 4 hours. (I didn’t freeze them)
  6. In a large, deep skillet, heat oil for deep frying to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Deep fry frozen, stuffed tortillas 10 minutes each, or until dark golden brown. Drain on paper towels before serving.
I basically changed the cooking method. I am not really into deep frying because it uses so much oil and makes a lot of extra clean up. It is also more time consuming because I have to be standing at the stove while things cook.
I love baking because it is healthier and more time efficient.
The tortillas became crisp after about 13 minutes in the oven at 225 degrees F (C 450 ). Be careful that they don’t turn dark brown or they will taste burnt.
My husband, 11-year-old daughter, and Mom thoroughly enjoyed these wraps. My 4-year-old son, on the other hand, kept complaining about the spice even though I didn’t put any chili powder in them. I don’t like eating to much spice myself but I didn’t find these spicy.
The dip I made was something as follows:
Simple Cream Cheese Dip
Ingredients
  • 8 oz (200 g) cream cheese
  • 100 ml cooking or whipping cream (I use yoghurt more often which gives a slightly tangy taste.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika powder
  • 1 pinch of white pepper
  • salt to taste
Directions
  1. Gradually mix the cream into the cream cheese.
  2. Add all the spices when the texture is smooth and mix well..
Well, I think this post is long enough. If any one is interested I can post the dip recipes I found but didn’t use.
Remember to double the recipe if you want to make 6 12 inch Tortilla Wraps.
About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Savoury and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hot and Healthy Tortilla Wraps

  1. Joan says:

    Post a picture of it please. 🙂

    Like

How do you like it?

