Plum Loaf Cake

Today, I actually made 2 different kinds of cake – plum and chocolate chip muffins. The plum cake was for our family coffee time after dinner and the chocolate chip muffins are for my niece’s birthday party tomorrow.

I have made this cake about 3 times and each time slightly differently, depending on what ingredients I had on hand. I have also made it as muffins.

I would have to say that more plum is definitely the way to go – about 3 medium plums or 1 ½ to 2 cups. I made it with only 2 plums today ( a little more than 1 cup) and it tasted more like a vanilla cake with pieces of plum in between. Every one loved it any way, but I would have preferred a more fruity taste.

The cake in itself is it not very sweet so the crunchy sugar on top adds the perfect touch.  The quarter cup of sugar seems like a lot while putting it on the cake  but trust me – it’s just right.

Plum Loaf Cake or muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup pitted, chopped plums (1 ½ to 2 is better)
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup margarine (or melted margarine or vegetable oil is what I used)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

 

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray a 9×5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray, or line with parchment paper (I always use baking paper – it saves on washing).
  2. Sprinkle chopped plums with 1 tablespoon of flour in a bowl, and toss to coat. Set aside. In a large bowl, beat the margarine (I just melt the margarine or use vegetable oil), white sugar, and vanilla extract with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs. In another bowl, sift together 1 1/2 cup of flour with salt and baking soda. Stir the dry ingredients into the egg mixture, alternating with yogurt until the mixture forms a smooth batter. Lightly stir in the flour-coated plums, and pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan. Sprinkle the top of the batter with brown sugar.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean, 45 to 50 minutes (mine need to bake 55 minutes before it was ready). Remove from oven, and let cool in the pan 10 to 15 minutes before removing from pan for slicing.
I was in a hurry once and tried to cut the cake right after taking it out of the oven and of course it just crumbled apart. It scared me and I thought it wasn’t cooked properly but after letting it cool for a while it was perfectly fine.
My niece loves this plum cake so much she has asked my to make it for her birthday next week. So… I’ll be making it again in a few days – and eating it of course.
I’m kind of at a loss for words right now as it is late and I’m quite tired… but at least it is the weekend tomorrow.
Hope you try this cake and enjoy it. Let me know how it worked out for you.
About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in plums and more plums and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

