Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

This week has been quite and experience  – holiday with the kids home, art home work, and all the other usual things that are a part of every day life. For the first time in my life I painted a self portrait. Hope I never have to do it again. It was 2 days of looking at myself for hours.

Well, this week I wanted to bake something with chocolate, but I also had 2 bananas that needed using. The choice was chocolate banana cake (which I love) or chocolate chip banana muffins. Since I had never made banana choco chip muffins I thought I should do something different.

I don’t know how many people choose to use this combination. I think it is a love it or hate it type of situation – and I LOVE it!

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (165 grams)
  • 3/4 cup sugar (85 grams)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas (2 medium bananas)
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips (about 170 grams)

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  2. In another bowl, combine the egg, oil, yogurt and vanilla.
  3. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.
  4. Fold in bananas and then the chocolate chips.
  5. Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full. (I just use silicon muffin cups.)
  6. Bake at 350 degrees F  (175 degrees C) for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks.
So the way it went for me was: The batter was extremely  thick before adding the bananas but the muffins turned out perfect.  Don’t worry about the batter seeming like gooey dough – it is for all the right reasons.
The chocolate chips don’t sink to the bottom so  don’t worry about tossing them in flour.
I had to make 2 batches of muffins because my 12 silicon muffin cups are a little on the small side. I made a batch of 6 the second time around and it didn’t seem to affect the batter that it had been sitting out for ½ an hour while waiting for the first batch to cook. I will be buying some more muffin cups are soon as I can get my hands on some more that I like.
I think I actually had to cook the muffins for 5 extra minutes – if I remember correctly. So that was 30 minutes baking time.
Last but not least – they were a hit. My darling sister even commented on how soft they were. I think every one would have eaten more if I had made more. Of course there will always be the occasional person who doesn’t like banana chocolate chip muffins, but then, all the more for us!
About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in banana and chocolate and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

