Mixed Meat Lasagne

The recipe I am writing up this week is a meat and cheese-filled Lasagne. I read a few recipes and then just improvised with what I had on hand.

This week, I cheated in my Friday night desert baking. I bought ready-made croissant dough and made chocolate croissants – which is why I chose to post the lasagne recipe instead.

Spicy sausage, peperoni or another tasty meat is a must if you want to have juicy scrumptious lasagne.

Ingredients

  • 9 pieces of lasagne pasta (I have done it with 6 and only 2 layers.)
  • 500 grams beef, minced
  • 100 grams peperoni, chopped
  • 300 grams grated mozzarella cheese
  • 100 grams pizza topping or other cheese of your choice
  • 1 can tomato puree (4 oz)
  • ½ large onion (chopped)
  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp basil (dried or fresh)
  • Peper to taste
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup water (or till desired consistency)

Directions

  1. In a large flat baking tray, soak lasagne noodles in boiling hot water for 20 minutes. Lay the noodles out flat in the water. Don’t worry about them overlapping a little as they will not stick together unless you leave them for too long.  If the water cools add more hot water.  ( I change the water 1 or 2 times during the 20 minutes.)
  2. Pre heat oven till 190 degrees F.
  3. Fry minced beef in olive oil till browned, then add peperoni and continue frying.
  4. Meanwhile, fry the onions and garlic in a teaspoon of vegetable oil for a minute, then add to the meat mixture.
  5. Mix in tomato purée, water, and other spices. Let mixture simmer 15 minutes on very low heat mixing occasionally.
  6. In a baking tray of your choice, start making layers of ingredients – layer of meat, a layer of cheese, then a layer of lasagne, and again a layer of cheese.  Repeat this 3 times using 3 lasagne noodles in each layer. You may need more cheese depending on how much cheese you like to have on each layer. Cover with foil.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes. Remove foil, and bake an additional 25 minutes. Cool for 15 minutes before serving

I made this amount for my family of 4 along with a lettuce and tomato salad with an olive oil and lemon dressing and there was just one little piece left over. My husband ate the rest the next day as part of his lunch.

Even my son who does not really like pasta enjoyed it. Now that really counts as a compliment.

I have made this lasagne many times but slightly different each time and gotten rave reviews. I made it when my brother-in-law staying in London visited, and he said he has eaten  lasagne in many different countries and that mine was the best. Nice brother-in-law!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Savoury and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

