Baked Stuffed Potatoes

I had to do it again. My oven is my favourite cooking appliance. This time I wanted to use the potatoes I had laying in the kitchen. So I searched for baked potatoes and found a blog with 5 different stuffed potato recipes. I didn’t have all the ingredients I needed so I just improvized.

I don’t think they could have turned out much better. If you are a potato lover then you will like these. Or if you just want to eat something filling but fresh either by themselves or with a meat dish, then by all means, try these.

Ingredients

  • 9 medium potatoes
  • 3/4 cup grated mozzarella cheese (75 grams)
  • 1/4 green onion. finely chopped
  • 1 small clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 8 strip bacon, fried
  • 1/2 cup yoghurt
  • 1 table spoon garlic chives, chopped
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Set oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Wash and dry potatoes.
  2. Coat in vegetable oil and lay on a pan covered with baking paper.
  3. Poke holes in potatoes to release steam as they bake. Bake potatoes for 1 hour or till ready. (I cooked mine for 70 minutes to be sure they were soft.)
  4. While the potatoes are baking chop and mix the other ingredients leaving out half the bacon and garlic chives for garnish.
  5. Cut off 1/4 inch from the potato tops. Scoop out the inside living about 1/4 inch of potato along the skin.
  6. Mash the potato and add it to the mixture. Fill the potatoes with the mixture. Then garnish with bacon and garlic chives.

These looked beautiful and as I brought them to the table my family was impressed. Little decorations go a long way and add an extra flare to the meal.

The stuffed potatoes were a little dry, according to our taste buds, so we just added a creamy yoghurt dressing. They were then set to go. We ate them with a special Danish meat sausage called medisterpølse and of course a salad. We eat salad at every meal – it is a family tradition.

Well, happy potato stuffing. Please write if you try any other stuffing and tell us how it turned out.

I’ll be back Friday with a desert . Catch you then


					
About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Savoury and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

