Chocolate Lava Muffins

The best chocolate lava muffins ever!!

You have to try them if you like chocolate. We ate the muffins in the evening and the morning after, my son came and asked if we had any more as I usually save left over cake for the next day’s breakfast. When I told him there weren’t any left he started crying. Poor thing.

Ingredients 

  • 8 ounces semisweet chocolate chips (226 grams) (I used 70% chocolate)
  • ½ cup butter (115 grams)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sugar (60 grams)
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 eggs
  • Butter, to coat muffin tin
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder

Directions

1)Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. (180 degrees C)

2)Place a metal bowl or pot over a saucepan with simmering water. Melt the chocolate and butter in the bowl. Stir in vanilla.

3) Combine sugar, flour and salt. Sift these into the chocolate and mix well with electric hand mixer. (I just used a whisk.)

4) Add eggs one at time, fully incorporating each egg before adding the next. Beat at high until batter is creamy and lightens in color, approximately 4 minutes. Chill mixture. (I just used a whisk for this as well.)

5) Coat each muffin cup with butter. Dust with cocoa powder and shake out excess. Fill 3/4 with batter.

6)Bake for 10 to 11 minutes. The outsides should be cake-like and centers should be gooey.

I found that the tops of the muffins didn’t rise completely. This may be due to the fact that there is no baking powder in them or that the tray should have been higher in the oven. I really don’t know.

I tried a similar recipe before and waited till the tops rose but then the muffins were not gooey inside any more.

You have to eat them warm so you get the lava effect.

Different things you can eat with them is: ice-cream, whipped cream, blueberry sauce, or fruit.

This is the recipe for the blueberry sauce I served with them. You can make it while the muffins are baking. Or get your daughter to make it like – I did.

Blueberry Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups blueberries – fresh or frozen (I used frozen)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 ½ tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon corn flour in 1 ½ tablespoons of water

Preparation:

1) Put blueberries into a small pot; add sugar, lemon juice, vanilla  and salt. Mix well.

2) Bring mixture to a boil. Pour in corn starch and water mixture sturing constantly until thickened.

3) Chill.

And the last instruction: eat when desired.

I found the sauce slightly sweet when eating it with the chocolate lava muffins. I think it would be a good idea to serve some kind of plain cream to eat with it as well to take the edge of the sweetness.

Make sure you have a cup of steaming hot coffee or freezing cold milk on hand as well. And please double the recipe as you will want more later.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in everything chocolate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

