Flourless Chocolate Cake

Flourless Chocolate Cake

This was the first time I ever made a flourless cake but it turned out pretty good. I think it may need to cook for 5 or 10 minutes longer if you don’t want it to be so liquid inside. I would say it is similar to a lava cake in that the center is very soft and it tastes great with cream/ whipped cream  and blackberry sauce.

Ingredients

  • 4 (1 ounce)(28.35 grams)  squares semisweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C). Grease an 8 inch round cake pan or 10 – 12 cupcake molds, and dust with cocoa powder.
  2. In the top of a double boiler over lightly simmering water, melt chocolate and butter. Remove from heat, and stir in sugar, cocoa powder, eggs, and vanilla. Pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely. (Some if the cake stuck to the bottom of the pan. I actually used a porcelain baking tray as I didn’t have a small metal one. ) Slices can also be reheated for 20 to 30 seconds in the microwave before serving. (I didn’t try reheating it.)
  4. Serve with fresh sliced strawberries or raspberries and a dusting of powdered sugar for a dessert made for company.

I hope you try it. Please write if you make any changes and let me know how your flourless caketurns out.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in everything chocolate, No flour cake and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flourless Chocolate Cake

  1. mom says:

    Super, super yammy. Very rich, so only eat small pieces.

    Like

How do you like it?

