Blackberry Cobbler

Any one who likes cobblers or has never tried cobblers,  has to try this Blackberry Cobbler. It was a total hit at my husbands birthday party. We were 9 people who had just eaten dinner, but there was still no where near enough.

I did things quite differently from the original directions. I cooked the berry mixture in a pot and then poured it into a glass baking dish to bake it.

I also used frozen berries so the berry sauce turned out a bit liquidly. The next time I make it I will add another 2 tablespoons of cornstarch.

Blackberry Cobbler

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar, divided
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ¼ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons cold butter
  • 1/4 cup boiling water
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 4 cups fresh blackberries, rinsed and drained

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, 1/2 cup sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, vanilla,   and salt. Cut in butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in 1/4 cup boiling water just until mixture is evenly moist.
  3. In a separate bowl, dissolve the cornstarch in cold water. Mix in remaining 1 cup sugar, lemon juice, and blackberries. Transfer to a cast iron skillet, and bring to a boil, stirring frequently. Drop dough into the skillet by spoonfuls. Place skillet on the foil lined baking sheet.
  4. Bake 25 minutes in the preheated oven, until dough is golden brown.

To make it easier to serve and so it looks nicer, make the spoonfuls equal as you put them into the berry mixture. Make the dough lumps the size you want to serve them as so when it comes time to serve you already have the portions made.

Tell me how yours works out, what you did, and how you liked it.

The Blackberry Cobbler has a brilliant balance of sweet and sour. Unlike Blueberry sauces the Blackberry sauce is not overly sweet and seems to have more flavour.

Make sure to serve it with whipped cream.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Berries and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blackberry Cobbler

  1. Yummy! I think I will have to try to make this!

    Like

  2. mom says:

    Nice one Sara, really a different sort of cake.

    Like

How do you like it?

