Chocolate Coconut Cake

This Chocolate Coconut Cake is one I found when I felt like making a coconut chocolate cake. I had a huge bag of desiccated coconut that had been sitting in my kitchen for ages and I just love chocolate so thought they would be a good combination.

I searched high and low on the internet but found nothing. Finally my trying paid off and I found this recipe on an Indian website. It seems to turn out a bit like an Indian sweet more than a cake as it is slightly chewy on the outside. It tastes great and I have been asked for the recipe. Here it is:

 

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ oz (5/8) cup desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 4 oz (1/2 cup or 114 grams) margarine
  • 6 oz (1 ½ cup) sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 oz (1 1/8 cup) flour
  • 1 level tablespoon cocoa powder (I used 2 tablespoons the last time I made it)
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

 

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 200 degrees F.
  2. Soak the coconut in the milk in a small bowl for ½ an hour.
  3. Cream margarine and sugar in a large bowl. (I just melted the margarine to save time.)
  4. Add lightly beaten eggs to margarine mixture and then add coconut mixture.
  5. Combine flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder. Sift into wet ingredients. Mix well.
  6. Line a 10 by 8 inch tray with baking paper if you want a thicker cake, otherwise use a 13 by 10 inch tray for a more chewy candy-like cake. (I use a 13 by 10 inch pan.)
  7. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes depending on the size of your pan – until inserted toothpick comes out clean or with dry crumbs on it.
  8. Cut into small squares when cooled.

 

The cake is very sweet so people will either love it or hate it. Ha! Hopefully no one will hate it.

I like the chewy texture and it is not too sweet if you only eat a little at a time. And as I always say when eating rich sweet things drink a cup of cold milk or hot coffee with it and it will balance it perfectly.

Enjoy baking and eating this delicious Chocolate Coconut Cake… I know I did.

 

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Coconut, everything chocolate and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

