Easy Decadent Truffles

I have been having a difficult time deciding what goodies to bake and make for Christmas this year. I Have my first day of vacation today so I am going to be baking non stop for the next two days. I know I’m a bit late … but better late than never. Chocolate Truffles are on the menu today.

I made these easy Truffles last year and my husband asked me to make them again this year. They are fast and simple to make yet so delicious.

The recipe makes a large amount, about 5 dozen, but you can vary flavorings and coatings to make several different varieties.

I only did different coatings last year so I think I’ll try different flavours and coatings this year.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 3 cups semisweet chocolate chips, melted
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, beat cream cheese until smooth. Gradually beat in confectioners’ sugar until well blended.
  2. Stir in melted chocolate and vanilla until no streaks remain.
  3. Refrigerate for about 1 hour. Shape into 1 inch balls.
  4. Roll truffles in ground walnuts (or any ground nuts), cocoa, coconut, confectioners’ sugar, candy sprinkles, etc.

If you want to try making different flavours you can add liqueurs or other flavorings, and omit the vanilla. you can divide the truffle mixture into thirds, for example, and add 1 tablespoon liqueur (almond, coffee, orange) to each mixture.

I’ll be adding coffee liqueur to one of my Easy Decadent Truffle batches but I still have to decide if I want to add anything to the others.

Please tell me what you added to yours and how they turned out. And of course  ENJOY!

An update… I made two batches of Truffles. I made one vanilla and one flavoured with Cream Liqueur. I then rolled them in 3 different coatings – cocoa powder, desiccated coconut, and sugar balls. My son wanted to put sugar balls on but I regret letting him because the hard sugar kind of ruins the smooth texture of the Truffles. They were fine the next day, however, since the sugar balls were no longer hard.

I think the cocoa powder and coconut was good. Confectioners sugar would probably have nice as well but it may also have been too sweet.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in everything chocolate, No bake and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy Decadent Truffles

  1. Maiya says:

    Yummy..thank you

    Like

  2. Pandi says:

    i’m gonna try these…:)

    Like

How do you like it?

