Chocolate Chip Marzipan Cake

Oh my! It has been 2 weeks since I have added a recipe. I did make a few cakes and deserts over Christmas and New Year but just spent my time eating the results instead of typing up the recipes.

One yummy but unusual one I made was a Chocolate Chip Marzipan Cake. I think it looks lovely when sliced. It was moist and soft even though I didn’t follow the recipe 100%.

I couldn’t get a hold of muscovado sugar which is a strong tasting brown sugar that looks like it is some molasses mixed into it. It is kind of sticky and wet. I only had white sugar so I made do with that. The batter turned out thicker then is should have and I blame that in the sugar.

Ingredients

  • 115 grams butter (preferably unsalted)
  • 150 grams muscovado sugar (light muscovado sugar or light brown) 3/4 cup
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbsps cocoa powder (23 grams)
  • 150 grams all-purpose flour (1 1/3 cup)
  •  1 1/2 tsps baking powder (5 grams)
  • 1/2 tsp salt (3 grams)
  • 125 grams marzipan (chopped)
  • 4 tbsps plain chocolate (chips or coarsely chopped)(I used 6 tbs)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C.
  2. Grease and flour a 20 x 11 cm (8″ x 4″) loaf pan and line the bottom with parchment paper.
  3. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  5. Sift in flour, baking powder, salt and cocoa powder, fold into the egg mixture.
  6. Mix chopped marzipan and chocolate chips in a bowl; set aside about 4 tablespoons and fold the rest into the cake batter mixture.
  7. Pour batter into the prepared pan, level the top and sprinkle the reserved marzipan and chocolate chips on top.
  8. Bake in the preheated oven for 45-50 minutes, or until risen and firm. Cool in the pan for a few minutes before turning out to a wire rack to cool completely.

I did a few things different from what the original recipe said to do. They were:

I melted the butter then beat in the sugar with a wooden spoon.

I added extra chocolate chips… I wasn’t satisfied with how few there were and I didn’t put marzipan on top of the cake.

I only baked it for 35 minutes – which wasn’t enough.

My batter couldn’t “pour”. It was very thick so I thought I should bake it for less time but then the middle sunk in a bit because the centre was slightly under cooked.

Any way, after all that, it was still a joy to eat. Chocolate Chip Marzipan Cake is a must to try. I do believe I will make it again… and this time follow the original recipe.

When you try it let us all know how it turns out. Enjoy, enjoy!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in everything chocolate, Marzipan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Chip Marzipan Cake

  1. Maiya says:

    I know what you mean I ate my way through christmas and new year.
    I love chocalate cake reciepes. So thanks and Have a great 2012. 🙂

    Like

  2. Maiya says:

    I know what you mean I ate my way through christmas and new year.
    I love cake reciepes. So thanks and Have a great 2012. 🙂

    Like

  3. everyvariety says:

    You are welcome Maiya. Chocolate and cake are a definite must. Wishing you a good year ahead.

    Like

How do you like it?

