Chewy Brownies

Chewy brownie

This is our family’s all-time favourite recipe for  Chewy Brownies. If I ask what cake I should bake, the first thing anyone will say is “Brownies!”.

You can make it more or less chewy by varying the cooking time and the amount of sugar.  We, however, like to use the full amount of sugar and keep the cooking time to a minimum.

This recipe makes a nice big brownie so there is enough for a crowd. Otherwise, you can keep it in the fridge for the next week and eat some every day with your coffee – which is what we like to do.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (225 grams) butter, melted
  • 3 cups (600 grams) white sugar (I have made it with less)
  • 1 tablespoon (15 ml) vanilla (I use vanilla sugar)
  • 4 eggs (medium)
  • 1 1/2 cups (180 grams) flour
  • 1 cup (100 grams) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup (182 grams) semisweet chocolate chips (I don’t use them often)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C)
  2. Line a 9×13 inch pan with baking paper – or coat with butter or oil.
  3. Melt the butter and then beat in the sugar and vanilla.
  4. Beat in the eggs one at a time till thoroughly combined.
  5. Sift flour, cocoa powder and salt. Gradually mix into wet ingredients.
  6. Toss chocolate chips in a tablespoon of flour and mix in with a spatula.
  7. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until toothpick comes out crumby but not gooey.
  8. Let the brownie cool for about 15 – 20 minutes before removing from pan.
  9. Cut while warm.

As the brownie cools it forms a crisp crust which makes it more difficult to cut. So I would say that cutting it while it is warm would be the easiest.

This Brownie recipe is very rich and chewy so I would advise serving a cup of cold milk, hot coffee, or whipped cream to go along with it.

And one more thing, don’t eat it all in one sitting. Enjoy!!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in brownie, everything chocolate and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chewy Brownies

  1. Maiya says:

    Yum my friend. Okay this I am definately going to make.

    Like

  2. "småting" says:

    These are difinately top-notch brownies. 🙂

    Like

  3. Victoria says:

    yumm I’ll give these a go this weekend

    Like

How do you like it?

