The Ultimate Carrot Cake

This Carrot Cake is truly unique with a perfect combination of moist soft carrot cake filled with crunchy sunflower seeds and dessicated coconut. It’s a must to then make it into layers with cream cheese icing in between.
It’s a lovely 3 tier cake so be prepared to EAT… or you can just invite others to come over and join in the fun.
Directions
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (I just used white flour.) (170 grams)
  • 2/3 cup flour (75 grams)
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 cup white sugar (200 grams)
  • 1 cup brown sugar (200 grams)
  • 1 cup buttermilk (250 ml)
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil (62 ml)
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsps pure vanilla extract (I use vanilla sugar)
  • 1 lb carrot (grated) (500 grams)
  • 1 1/2 cups flaked coconut (115 grams)
  • 1 cup chopped pecans (I used 1/2 cup sunflower seeds)
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup butter (room temp) (115 grams)
  • 8 ozs cream cheese (room temp) (250 grams)
  • 16 ozs sugar (confectioners) (453 grams) (I used around 400 grams as I don’t like it too sweet.)
  • 2 teaspoons orange zest (pith attached)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (Again, I used vanilla sugar)
  • 12 ozs pecan (halves) (I didn’t use any)
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees C (175 degrees F).
  2. Sift together the flours, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, nutmeg, and ginger in a bowl.
  3. Mix the sugars together in a large bowl.
  4. Stir in the oil, eggs, buttermilk and vanilla.
  5. Stir in the flour mixture, grated carrots, chopped pecans, coconut and raisins. Stir until well blended.
  6. Grease and flour three 9 inch round cake pans. (I lined a 2 feet by 1 1/2 feet tray with baking paper.)
  7. Pour equal amounts of batter into each of the cake pans.
  8. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of each comes out clean.
  9. Remove from oven and let stand for 10 minutes. Turn out onto cooling racks, remove wax paper and allow to cool completely.
Cream Cheese Icing
  1. In a large bowl beat the butter and cream cheese together until light.
  2. Add the confectioners sugar, orange peel and vanilla mixing until smooth.
  3. Spread frosting between layers and stack evenly. Frost the top and sides of cake.
  4. Decorate with perfect pecan halves. (I didn’t decorate mine.)

This cake takes a bit more time because of having to grate the carrots, but if you have a food processor it really isn’t a problem.

As you can see, I opted for sunflower seeds rather than pecans because I had no pecans on hand at the time.

I also used a 2 feet by 1 1/2 feet oven pan since I didn’t have 3 round trays the same size. I then cut the cake into 3 equal parts for the layers.

To be honest, I am more of a chocolate person but I really was pleased with this cake and so was everyone else that ate it. It was lovely and soft, filled with flavour and also looked nice when served. There were many good comments about it. Some were: “It is perfect. Not to rich or sweet.” and “The icing has an amazing flavour.” and “Can I have another piece?”.

I hope you try this Carrot Cake. Tell me if you use pecans instead of sunflower seed and how that turns out. And of course, I would classify this cake as a healthy cake.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Carrot and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ultimate Carrot Cake

  1. mom says:

    A mix of wonderful flavours.Truely a taste of heaven. I want more!!!

    Like

How do you like it?

