Chocolate Banana Cake

This chocolate banana cake is one of my favourite cakes. It’s one of those ones I made a number of times after finding the recipe.  That could be because it looks like chocolate but tastes like banana – I’m not really sure. But it is fluffy, satisfying and easy to make.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups (400 g) white sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups (245 g) flour
  • 3/4 cup (75 g) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (about 2 medium bananas)
  • 1 cup (240 ml) warm water
  • 1/2 cup (120 ml) milk
  • 1/2 (120 ml) oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (I use vanilla sugar)

Directions:

  1. Pre heat oven to 350 degrees C (180 degrees F).
  2. Grease or line a 9 x 13 baking tray.
  3. Whisk together the sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a big bowl.
  4. In a medium bowl whisk together eggs, mashed banana, water, milk, oil, and vanilla.
  5. Add wet to dry and whisk or stir till mixed.
  6. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or till an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Remove when done and cool on a wire rack.

There you have it. Easy, good, and turns out right every time. I’ve actually also halved the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan – that turned out great as well.

Of course, a chocolate icing goes well with this Chocolate Banana cake. I’ll post some icings I use in the near future. Enjoy!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in banana and chocolate and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Banana Cake

  1. Linnell says:

    Bananas and chocolate! Two of my favorites! I will definitely try this recipe! And thanks always for your visits to What About This?

    Like

How do you like it?

