Lemon Blueberry Pie

A pie!! I am finally adding a pie recipe. I find pie recipes a little more time consuming than cakes so I don’t make them very often. This Lemon Blueberry Pie was not very complicated and well worth the effort. I made it for my sister’s birthday party along with 3 other types of cake, and the tray was scraped clean.

You may notice in the picture that the top of the pie looks a bit watery. That is because I made the pie the day before and then took it for a half-an-hour ride to the party venue. Poor pie! I felt bad for it when we arrived.

I then decided to decorate it with whipped cream to try to cover up some of the mess I had made. That turned out to be a good idea.

Lemon Blueberry Pie

Ingredients

Lemon filling

  • 6 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons lemon zest (grated lemon peel)

Topping

  • 3 cups fresh blueberries (I used frozen)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tablespoon cornstarch ( may have used 3 due to using frozen berries)

Crumb Crust

  • 2 cups Graham cracker crumbs (I use Marie cookies)
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted (115 grams)
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon


Directions

Crust: 

  1. Combine the graham cracker crumbs, powdered sugar, cinnamon, and melted butter.
  2. Press onto bottom and partway up sides of buttered 9″ springform pan; chill. (I used a rectangular glass tray so I could serve it as is.)
Lemon filling:
  1. In a saucepan, combine eggs, sugar, butter, lemon juice and peel; cook, stirring constantly, over medium-low heat until mixture thickens, about 20 minutes.
  2. Cool for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Pour into pie shell.
Blueberry Topping: 
  1.  In a saucepan, toss blueberries and sugar.
  2. Mix orange juice and cornstarch; add to blueberries.
  3. Cook over medium heat until mixture comes to a boil, about 8 minutes, stirring gently. Cook 2 minutes longer.
  4. Cool for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Spoon over lemon layer.
  6. Chill pie for 4 to 6 hours.

It was a tasty creamy sweet and tangy snack. One which was easy to eat a lot of – if you ask me.

Take some time out of your busy schedule to relax while you try this Lemon Blueberry Pie. Maybe you could even make it for Valentine’s Day for friends or family. Why not?

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Berries, Lemon, Pies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

