Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Biscotti

I found this Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Biscotti recipe while reading a blog called Savory Simple. I was looking for a recipe I could make the night before and then serve for Valentine’s breakfast. In the recipe it said they were better the next day, so I thought that would be perfect. Biscotti is a light double baked cookie. So be prepared for a little extra baking time.

I decided to try this one as I had never tried anything like it before. I halved the recipe since I also making a few other things to serve at the same time. Because of this, I used 3/4 cup chocolate chips and no butterscotch.

The Biscotti logs spread out  a lot while they are baking so leave around 6 cm between them.

Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Biscotti

Ingredients:

  • 11 oz flour (312 grams)
  • 7 oz sugar (198 grams)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 eggs
  • splash of vanilla
  • 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup mini butterscotch chips

Directions:

  1. Sift/whisk dry ingredients together and place them in a stand mixer with the paddle attachment. (I don’t have a paddle attachment so I just mixed it by hand with a spatula. Worked fine.)
  2. Add eggs and vanilla to mixer, while pulsing the machine on and off. (I beat the eggs in a separate bowl and then added them. I mixed them in with the spatula.)
  3. When the dough starts getting crumbly, add the chocolate and butterscotch chips.  Continue to pulse until everything is evenly combined.
  4. Push the dough together in the mixing bowl or on a table until it’s a firm, slightly sticky dough.
  5. Divide the dough into 4 even pieces and roll them into logs.  Set the logs in a sheet tray covered with parchment. (Make the logs about 2 cm in diameter.)
  6. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 25 minutes.  Check for firmness on top, then allow to cool.
  7. Slice on the bias – diagonally, then place slices back in the oven at 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) for 5 minutes per side.

They are a little delicate while hot, probably due to the chocolate chips, so you may need to be gentle when turning them over to bake on the second side.

I can’t wait for breakfast tomorrow. I just finished making Apple Muffins and I am going to make Chocolate Soufflé first thing in the morning which I’ll serve with ice-cream or whipped cream – I can’t decide which.

I thought I’d better add this recipe now in case anyone else wants to try it for a Valentine’s Day snack. You can serve them with sweet wine or coffee. I’ll add pictures of the Chocolate Chip Biscotti tomorrow.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cookies, everything chocolate and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Biscotti

  1. Thank you for trying my recipe!

    Like

  2. everyvariety says:

    Thank you for posting it. We all enjoyed eating it!

    Like

  3. "småting" says:

    After tasting your biscottis I determind to make some one day. Today is the day almost a year later. 🙂 I didn’t follow this recipe though as I have neither chocolate chips nor butterscotch chips. —-And I find the american measurements confusing.
    So I hunted for a simple recipe with the ingredience I have in-house. Here is the result:

    1/2 lemon peel crated
    1 egg
    75 g sugar
    25 g butter
    175 g wheat flour
    1/2 tsp baking powder
    1/4 salt
    50 g almonds

    They turned out nice and crispy with a mild lemon flavour. Not as fancy as yours but excellent with a cup of everyday coffee.

    Like

How do you like it?

