Chocolate Cream Cheese Pie

This week, I decided to make a Chocolate Pie. I read so many recipes with so many different ingredients and mixes of styles, but I finally settled for this one because it was neither too simple nor too complicated. I also had most of the ingredients at home already… a real plus!

This pie is a real treat – rich and chocolatey. I made the recipe 1 and 1/2 times because my pie tray is huge. Now, we have some left for tomorrow. Yay!!

The original recipe was called Snickers Chocolate Pie but since I am not going to use Snickers I decided to change the name. Of course you can use Snickers if you like.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Pie

Crust

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup (about 140 grams) graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 tablespoons (14 grams) sugar
  • 6 tablespoons (90 grams) unsalted butter melted
Directions
  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees F (170 degrees C).
  2. Combine ingredients and press into a buttered 9″ glass pie pan.
  3. Bake about 5 minutes. Cool on rack.

Fudge layer

Ingredients

  • 6 tablespoons (84 grams) flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup (115 grams) unsalted butter (cut in pieces)
  • 4 oz (113 grams) semisweet chocolate chopped
  • 1 oz (28 grams) unsweetened chocolate chopped
  • 1/2 cup (100 grams) sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Directions
  1. Sift flour, baking powder and salt into medium bowl.
  2. Combine butter and chocolates in a double boiler and stir until melted and smooth. Cool slightly.
  3. Using and electric mixer beat sugar, egg and egg yolk in a medium bowl until slightly thickened.
  4. Add vanilla and cooled chocolate mixture and mix until well blended.
  5. Add dry ingredients and mix until just combined.
  6. Pour into crust and bake until almost set ( about 17 min.)
  7. Cool on rack for 10 min.
  8. Cut up about 8 1/2 oz Snicker’s bars and place on fudge layer. (I didn’t do this)

Cream Cheese layer

Ingredients

  • 10 oz (283 grams) cream cheese, room temp.
  • 1/3 cups (60 grams) sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Directions
  1. With an electric mixer, combine cheese and sugar, add egg and vanilla and beat until smooth.
  2. Spread mixture over Snicker’s and bake for about 15 minutes or until set. Cool on rack.
Decoration
Ingredients
  • 56 grams milk chocolate
  • 2 tablespoons whipping cream
  • refrigerator
Directions
  1. Melt and mix milk chocolate and whipping cream to make a sauce to drizzle on top.
  2. Refrigerate and serve chilled.

The only complaint I have about this pie is that it takes a while to make because it has to be put in the oven 3 times. It’s one of those deserts that take your full attention.

Besides that, this Chocolate Pie is definitely one that I will make again. I see it as a kind of a “party” food that you can serve proudly any where. It is a must make!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cream Cheese, everything chocolate, Pies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Cream Cheese Pie

  1. mom says:

    This is a great chocolate pie and there was lots of it. 🙂 Both looked and tasted good.

    Like

  2. everyvariety says:

    Thanks, Mom. Could you have eaten more?

    Like

How do you like it?

