Night Before Cinnamon Rolls

I made these Cinnamon Rolls as part of my Birthday Brunch. I wanted something I could just put in the oven when I got up in the morning so I could concentrate on the other things I wanted to make. And it worked out great.

Cinnamon Rolls

Ingredients

Dough

  • 1 cup (225 ml) milk
  • 1/3 cup (75 grams) butter
  • 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup (100 grams) white sugar
  • 4 1/2 cups (480grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
Filling
  • 3/4 cup (150 grams) brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup raisins
Glaze
  • 1 teaspoon light corn syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups (140 grams) sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 tablespoons half-and-half cream

Directions

  1. Heat the milk in a small saucepan until it bubbles, then remove from heat. Add the butter and stir until melted; let cool until lukewarm.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, dissolve the yeast in the milk mixture.
  3. Lightly beat eggs and add to milk mixture.
  4. Combine the sugar, 3 cups (330 grams) of flour, and salt; stir well to combine. Add the remaining flour, 1/2 cup (60 grams) at a time, stirring well after each addition. When the dough has pulled together, turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and supple, about 8 minutes.
  5. Lightly oil a large mixing bowl, place the dough in the bowl and turn to coat with oil. Cover with a damp cloth and let rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.
  6. Deflate the dough and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface and roll into a 10x 14 inch rectangle. Lightly brush the far edge with water.
  7. In a small bowl combine the cinnamon and 3/4 cup (150 grams) brown sugar and sprinkle over the rectangle. Then sprinkle the raisins and chopped nuts over the dough. Roll up the dough into a log and seal the seam.
  8. Cut the dough into 12 equal pieces; place the pieces in a greased 9×13 inch baking pan, or 1/2 inch deep dish pizza pan. Cover with plastic wrap and place in the refrigerator to rise overnight.
  9. The next morning, preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Take the rolls out of the refrigerator and let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.
  10. Bake the rolls for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden.
  11. Combine the corn syrup with the vanilla in a small bowl. Whisk in the powdered sugar and enough cream to make a thick glaze.
  12. Drizzle the glaze over the rolls when ready and serve warm.

My kids don’t like raisins in cooked food so I didn’t put any in. Maybe I’ll try it with raisins next time.

The cinnamon rolls turned out nice but they do need the glaze on top as some of the sugar leaks out of them while they are in the fridge. I think with out the glaze they are a little dry, but then my sister liked them that way, so…personal preference here again.

We all love Cinnamon Rolls. Do you?

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cinnamon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

