Moist Banana Bread

This is Banana Bread and not cake…so what can you expect? It’s moist, soft, and truly bananay. It is a little heavy but that’s what happens when you use 6 or 7 bananas in one loaf of bread.

I found this recipe on allrecipes.com. This is one of my favourite sites to get recipes since there are comments and ratings from so many people. This recipe had a 4 1/2 star rating from 6,696 reviews. What more can I say but that I would also give it a 5 star rating?

The vanilla and cinnamon are optional since they are not in the original recipe, but I’d say the more flavour the better.

Banana Bread

Ingredients

  • 2 cups (190 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup (115 grams) butter
  • 3/4 (150) cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 1/3 cups (7 bananas) mashed overripe bananas (I used 6)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan. (Mine was 8×4 inches.)
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, vanilla sugar, cinnamon and salt.
  3. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar.
  4. Stir in eggs and then mashed bananas until well blended.
  5. Gently stir banana mixture into flour mixture until just moistened.
  6. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
  7. Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean.
  8. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack.

I felt there was a little too much butter in the bread – the pan was very oily when I took out the bread. I would try lowering the amount of butter the next time I make it.

This Banana Bread was sweet and satisfying. I would recommend eating it warm and fresh from the oven.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Banana, Bread and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

