Hot Cross Buns

Hot Cross Buns for the first time ever.  They are a British Easter tradition so I thought I would try something new and make them for our Easter coffee time in the afternoon.  I really enjoyed them and so did the rest of my family… I believe.  They turned out huge, fluffy and slightly sweet.

The following is the original recipe but since I only had fresh yeast I had to change the order of things a little. If you use fresh yeast, dissolve the yeast in the warm milk mixture and then follow the rest of the recipe.

It took a lot of restraint not to add more flour than called for in the recipe because the dough is still very sticky when it is all added. If that happens just keep your hands and counter well floured and it will all be okay.

Hot Cross Buns

Ingredients

  • 4 cups (440 grams) all-purpose flour 
  • 1/3 cup (75 grams) sugar 
  • 1 (.25 ounce) (21 grams fresh yeast) package active dry yeast 
  • 1 1/4 (3 grams) teaspoons ground cinnamon 
  • 1/2 teaspoon (3 grams) salt 
  • 1 cup fat-free (225 ml) milk (I used 1.5% fat)
  • 1/4 cup butter (55 grams) or stick margarine 
  • 2 eggs (I used 3 small eggs and the extra white)
  • 3/4 cup raisins (120 grams) (Mine were big so I chopped them in half)
Egg wash
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tablespoons cold water

Icing

  • 1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon grated orange peel
  • 4 teaspoons orange juice
Or the one I made:
  • 60 grams confectioner’s sugar (I used 40 g and it was too liquid)
  • 1 tablespoon water

Directions

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine 2 cups flour, sugar, yeast, cinnamon and salt.
  2. In a saucepan, heat milk and butter to 120 degrees F-130 degrees F.
  3. Add to dry ingredients; beat just until moistened.
  4. Add eggs;beat until smooth. Stir in raisins and enough remaining flour to form a soft dough. Turn onto a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes. Place in a bowl coated with nonstick cooking spray, turning once to coat top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.
  5. Punch dough down; turn onto a lightly floured surface. Divide into 18 pieces; shape each into a ball. Place in two 9-in. round baking pans coated with nonstick cooking spray.
  6. Using a sharp knife, cut a cross on top of each roll. (You have to cut it quite deep or it will just fill up while baking.) Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 30 minutes.
  7. Beat egg yolk and water; brush over buns.
  8. Bake at 375 degrees F for 18-22 minutes or until golden brown. (I forgot them in for a few extra minutes but they were still alright.)
  9. Remove from pans to wire racks to cool.
  10. Combine icing ingredients; pipe crosses onto buns.I made 13 buns and baked them in a 13 by 9 inch tray.  I could have made 15 buns and they would still have fit in  the tray and have been a good size. They rose very high because there wasn’t much room for them to rise sideways. Hot Cross Buns were easy to make and a nice change from the sweet deserts I usually make. Hope you try them too.
About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Bread, Raisins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

