Strawberry Rhubarb Crumb Pie

This Strawberry Rhubarb Crumb Pie is one of those deserts that after baking it and  tasting it you say “Wow! That was worth the effort!”

When I walked into the room where my extended family was sitting, even before anyone tasted the pie, there were anticipation comments flying around. We ate it about 2 hours after I’d baked it. The filling was not too sweet, tender and warm and the top sweet and crunchy – which was a perfect combination.

My grandmother had given me some frozen rhubarb a few weeks ago so I wanted to use it. There was not as much as I needed for this recipe so I substituted with strawberries and added extra flour for thickening.

I had some problems with the dough and crumble because the mixture of butter and solid vegetable oils I used was not cold enough. I used the same for the crumble, instead of butter, so I couldn’t sprinkle the crumble onto the pie but rather had to put small pieces all over it – but no one knew the difference.

Here is a fabulous pie filling with the crust recipe I baked it in.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumb Pie

Pie Crust

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups (140 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon (2 grams) salt
  • 1 tablespoon confectioners (7 grams) sugar, optional
  • 1/2 cup (115 grams) shortening, chilled (I used half butter half shortening)
  • 3 tablespoons ice water (I used 2 tablespoons)

Directions

  1. Whisk the flour and salt together in a medium size bowl. With a pastry blender (I used 2 butter knives), cut in the cold shortening until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  2. Drizzle 2 to 3 tablespoons ice water over flour. Toss mixture with a fork to moisten, adding more water a few drops at a time until the dough comes together. (2 tablespoons was more than enough for my dough. After 1 tablespoon my dough was already a ball.)
  3. Gently gather dough particles together into a ball. Wrap in plastic wrap, and chill for at least 30 minutes before rolling. (I chilled mine for almost 2 hours.)
  4. Roll out dough, and put in a pie plate. (My dough was very moist so I rolled it on a floured counter with plastic rap over it so I could lift it easier. I then flipped it before it was too big and difficult to get off the counter, and rolled it on the other side.)
  5. Fill with  filling and bake.

Filling

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup (225 grams) sugar
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour (I used 3)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 pound fresh rhubarb, cut into 1/2 inch pieces (I used 350 grams of frozen rhubarb)
  • 1 pint (288 grams) fresh strawberries, halved (I used 400 grams big strawberries cut into 12 pieces each)

Crumb topping:

  • 3/4 cup (85 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 (100 grams) cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup (45 grams) quick-cooking or rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup (115 grams) cold butter

Directions for filling and topping

  1. In a large mixing bowl, beat egg. Add the sugar, flour and vanilla; mix well. Gently fold in rhubarb and strawberries. Pour into pastry shell.
  2. For topping, combine flour, brown sugar and oats in a small bowl; cut in butter until crumbly. Sprinkle over fruit.
  3. Bake at 400 degrees F (200 degrees C) for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) bake for 35 minutes or until golden brown and bubbly. (35 minutes was perfect for me.) Cool on a wire rack.

There are things you could do to make the pie even better, for example, brush egg white on the pie crust and then pre-bake it for 5 minutes. This should make the pie crust crunchy. I didn’t want to spend more time then I already had making the pie so I opted for not doing that this time.

You could also serve it with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream – which I’m sure everyone knows enhances any pie.

You really have to try this Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Pie. It’s simply Delish!!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Berries, Crumble, Pies, Rhubarb and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

