Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

These Chocolate Crinkle Cookies are chewy, slightly nutty and melt in your mouth. This recipe makes about 70 cookies – it’s enough for a party and look nice without having to decorate them.

I changed a few things in the recipe and the cookies were great. If you try the original recipe please tell me how they turn out.

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (112 ml) vegetable oil
  • 4 chocolate squares, (106 grams) – unsweetened and melted (I used 225 grams 50 % cocoa chocolate)
  • 2 cups (450 grams) sugar (I only used 400 grams because I used extra chocolate)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons (10 ml) vanilla extract
  • 2 cups (220 grams) sifted flour (sift before measuring)
  • 2 teaspoons  (8 grams)baking powder
  • 1/2 (3 grams) teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup crushed nuts (I used 100 grams finely chopped walnuts)
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar, for coating

Directions

  1. Melt chocolate on low heat stirring constantly. Remove from heat before completely melted and mix till smooth.
  2.  Mix oil and  sugar into the chocolate.
  3. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  4. Add vanilla.
  5. Combine flour, baking powder and salt and then mix into the chocolate mixture.
  6. Stir in nuts.
  7. Chill for several hours. (I didn’t have several hours so I put it in the freezer for 45 minutes.)
  8. Roll dough into balls by teaspoonfuls. Roll in confectioners’ sugar immediately.
  9. Place 2 inches apart on greased baking sheet. (They more than double in size.)
  10. Bake in a 350-degree F (175 degrees C) oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Don’t over bake.

I baked them for 10 minutes and they were perfect. I ended up making 4 batches because their were so many cookies. There was only a hint of walnut flavour in them so you might try adding more nuts.

This is a real easy recipe. I had my 4 year old niece over and she along with my own kids did some of the rolling into balls. Of course, their hands got a bit messy since the longer you roll the balls for the more they melt, but the kids enjoyed every moment.

These Chocolate Crinkle Cookies are great for a crowd. I have enough left over for a few days to come even after sending some home with everyone that came over for dinner.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cookies, everything chocolate, Walnut and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

