Coconut Macaroon Brownies

This Coconut Macaroon Brownie is soft and cakelike. It has a wonderfully appetizing look as the white coconut and dark brown brownie is a great color contrast. We all enjoyed it! We were a gathering of 14 people and there was plenty for every one. I found this recipe on allrecipes.com – which is one of my favourite recipe sights due to all the comments, reviews and suggestions.

Some said the combination of light chocolate and coconut were perfect and others of us would have preferred a stronger richer chocolate flavour. I am one of the later.

Perhaps making a chocolate icing will increase the flavour or one could increase the brownie amount by 1 1/2 times. When I make it again I think I’ll use a chewy or fudgy brownie recipe to emphasize the chocolate taste.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened (I melted 200 grams margarine and then mixed in the sugar.)
  • 2 cups (240 grams) white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups (250 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon cream of tartar (I used 1 teaspoon baking powder.)
  • 1/2 cup (60 grams) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (I didn’t use any)
  • 4 cups (300 grams) unsweetened flaked coconut
  • 1 (14 ounce – 414 ml) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Another option – which is my own invention for the coconut filling is:
  • 250 grams dessicated coconut
  • 110 grams raw sugar
  • 414 ml 3 % fat milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla sugar
I did this because it is difficult to find shredded coconut and condensed milk here. If you use my coconut recipe – mix the coconut, milk and sugar and let it sit for al least half and hour before adding to the brownie. The top layer of brownie detached from the coconut layer easily so it would probably be better to use condensed milk as that would make the coconut layer more sticky.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour (or cover with baking paper) a 9×13 inch baking pan.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar.
  3. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Stir in 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla.
  4. Combine the flour, cream of tartar and cocoa; stir into the egg mixture until well blended.
  5. Fold in walnuts.
  6. Spread half of this mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan.
  7. In a medium bowl, stir together the coconut, sweetened condensed milk and 1 tablespoon vanilla. Carefully layer this over the chocolate layer in the pan.
  8. Top with the remaining chocolate batter. Spread to cover evenly. (this is a little difficult to do as the batter sticks to the spoon. I used my fingers for the finishing touch.)
  9. Bake for 45 to 50 minutes in the preheated oven(After 40 minutes, the brownie was completely ready. I think I would even cook it 5 minutes less the next time around.), until top is no longer shiny.
  10. Cool in the pan before cutting into bars.

It was really a lot of coconut compared to the brownie, so next time I think I will try 1 1/2 times the brownie recipe.

This Coconut Macaroon Brownie was

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Coconut, everything chocolate. Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

