Crispy Fried Doughnuts

I made 2 batches of these Crispy Doughnuts to save time and experiment – one baked and one fried. I have always been an advocate for baked doughnuts but when I couldn’t find the recipe I had “always” used I went on the look out for a new one. I found this one in allrecipes and changed it to my liking.

Since my daughter and I were making the doughnuts for a family get-together she really wanted to fry them so we went for a compromise. We fried the ones we would take out with us and since there were so many we baked the ones we would save for breakfast the next day. We also used all the holes as mini doughnuts – these were very popular with the children.

I have to say the fried ones were unbelievable! My daughter and I had to taste them right after they were made and they were so crunchy on the outside and totally spongy on the inside – the way a “real” doughnut should be.

We made a 2 batches of colored glaze – pink and green and one batch of melted chocolate glaze.

Crispy Doughnuts

Ingredients

  • 2 (.25 ounce) envelopes active dry yeast (42 g fresh yeast)
  • 1/4 cup warm water (105 to 115 degrees)
  • 1 1/2 cups (348 ml) lukewarm milk
  • 1/2 cup (115 g) white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup (75 g) shortening (I used margarine)
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour (I used 7 ½ cups – 770 grams)
  • 1 quart vegetable oil for frying (or oven at 175 degrees C)

Directions

  1. Sprinkle the yeast over the warm water, and let stand for 5 minutes, or until foamy.
  2. (If using fresh yeast: warm milk then add shortening. When margarine is melted add fresh yeast to warm milk mixture. Mix till dissolved.)
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the yeast mixture, milk, sugar, salt, eggs, shortening, and 2 cups of the flour.
  4. Mix for a few minutes at low speed, or stir with a wooden spoon.
  5. Beat in remaining flour 1/2 cup at a time, until the dough no longer sticks to the bowl. (This took me 7 cups of flour to happen.)
  6. Knead for about 5 minutes, or until smooth and elastic.
  7. Place the dough into a greased bowl, and cover. Set in a warm place to rise until double. Dough is ready if you touch it, and the indention remains. (You can let it rise in warmed oven with the door open for 30 or 40 mins)
  8. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface (use plenty of flour!) and gently roll out to 1/2 inch thickness.
  9. Cut with a floured doughnut cutter. (Place on baking tray to rise if you are going to bake them.)
  10. Let doughnuts sit out to rise again until double, covered loosely with a cloth.
  11. Prepare your choice of glaze or topping.
  12. Heat oil in a deep-fryer or large heavy skillet to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Slide doughnuts into the hot oil using a wide spatula. Turn doughnuts over as they rise to the surface. Fry doughnuts on each side until golden brown.
  13. Remove from hot oil to drain on a wire rack.
  14. Dip doughnuts into the glaze while still hot, and set onto wire racks to drain off excess.Keep a cookie sheet or tray under racks for easier clean up.

Glaze ideas

Vanilla butter glaze

  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 4 tablespoons hot water or as needed

Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir in confectioners’ sugar and vanilla until smooth. Remove from heat, and stir in hot water one tablespoon at a time until the icing is somewhat thin, but not watery. Set aside.

Cocoa glaze

To make this a cocoa glaze just add 1/4 cup (30 grams) cocoa powder when you add the sugar.

Melted Chocolate glaze

  • 8 (1 ounce = 28 grams) squares semi-sweet chocolate (Multiply depending on how much you want to make)
  • 1 tablespoon shortening (I use margarine)
  1. Cut semi-sweet chocolate into small pieces and place in top of double boiler with shortening.
  2. Melt over medium heat, stirring frequently until smooth. Keep warm.

These doughnuts were delicate to work with when moving them onto a tray and  into the oil. Make sure they are thoroughly floured and only move them when necessary.

They were the best home made doughnuts I have ever eaten. I think you should try frying these to make them real Crispy Doughnuts.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Bread, everything chocolate and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

