Red Velvet Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

This Red Velvet Cake with a White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting is amazing. Intriguing red contrasting with an off white. It is rich, moist and flavourful. It stole the show at my birthday get-together.

I held my birthday party this weekend since my family was finally free to attend. It was actually my birthday 3 weeks ago so I have been anticipating this for a long time. When thinking about what type of cake to bake, my brother said to make something I’ve never tried before. This got me thinking…and searching.

I’ve made 2 layer cakes before but never 3 layers so that was what I started looking for. I found plenty!! I then narrowed my search to chocolate layer cakes. I finally had my list narrowed down to 3 cakes. One with coconut filling, one with chocolate cream cheese filling and another with cherry and whipped cream filling.

I love coconut! But my Mom, daughter and husband all said to cut the coconut one off the list. Well, I didn’t really want to make 3 cakes anyway so I thought I would let my birthday guests decide – this time.

Today, I am posting the Red Velvet Cake recipe, and I’ll post the Black Forest Cake recipe next week.

Red Velvet Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 cup (225 grams) butter, softened
  • 3 cups (675 grams) white sugar
  • 6 (2 0r 3 make it less spongy) eggs (I used 4)
  • 1-2 1/2 ounce (30- 75 ml) red food coloring (I used 60ml to make it more red)
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder (I used 9 tbs 65 grams because I wanted it more chocolatey)
  • 3 cups (360 grams) all-purpose  flour
  • 1 cup (240 ml) buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 2 (8 ounce) (460 grams) packages cream cheese
  • 12 ounces (340 grams) white chocolate
  • 1 cup (225 grams) butter, softened
  • 60 grams confectioners sugar (optional but strongly recommended)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract (optional but strongly recommended)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Grease and flour three 9 inch pans. ( I only had one spring form pan so I baked 3 cakes one after the other and used baking paper.)
  2. In a large bowl, cream 1 cup butter with sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Mix in food coloring.
  3. Mix cocoa powder, flour and salt; sift together.
  4. Add to egg mixture alternately with buttermilk. Add vanilla.
  5. In a medium (not small) bowl mix baking soda with vinegar, and gently stir into mixture. Be careful not to over mix.
  6. Divide batter into three prepared 9 inch round pans. Bake at 325 degrees F (165 degrees C) for 25 minutes (1 pan at a time). (degrees for 35 – 40 minutes all pans at once).  (I had to bake 2 for 30 minutes and 1 for 35 since it was slightly thicker. I think it is important to check it with a toothpick after 25 minutes and decide how much longer it needs to be cooked for.
  7. Allow to cool.

White Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Melt the white chocolate in a pot over a pot of hot water. Allow to cool to lukewarm.
  2. In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese until light and fluffy.
  3. Gradually beat in softened butter and then melted white chocolate. Beat until it is the consistency of whipped cream.
Frosting and Decorating
  1. Cut off a small layer of cake to crumble and use to decorate.
  2. Frost each layer with a centimetre of frosting and then the top.
  3. Frost the around the side.
  4. Decorate using remaining frosting in an icing gun.
  5. Crumble saved cake and decorate sides or top by dabbing with crumbs.

I actually made the cakes yesterday so I wouldn’t be too rushed today since I had another cake to make, set up, and all the rest that a birthday party entails.

This Red Velvet Cake is a little extra work, both creaming the butter – which I do not enjoy doing by hand – and then decorating … but it is well worth it. If there is a time I need to impress anyone with my cake making skills this would be on the list of  cakes to choose from.

I hope you will try this cake and enjoy it as much as we did.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Cream Cheese, everything chocolate and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red Velvet Cake with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Jono Jensen says:

    I died and went to heaven for the 30 seconds it took me to eat one of em’ slices! 🙂

    Like

  2. mom says:

    That was one rich cake, and so butterly tasty.

    Like

How do you like it?

