Cream filled Strawberries

This is a lovely fresh treat – great for summer. Strawberries and cream with a twist becomes Cream filled Strawberries. I found this recipe in Joy of Baking and had to try it. It is perfect for a summer snack, “pick up and eat” get together dish or as a buffet dessert.

I made these with my daughter and we had a lot of fun filling the strawberries.

Cream Filled Strawberries Recipe

Ingredients

  • 15 large fresh strawberries (I used 500 grams medium strawberries)
  • 1/3 cup (80 ml) cold Philadelphia cream cheese (can substitute with regular cream cheese)
  • 1/3 cup (80 ml) cold heavy whipping cream (35-40% butterfat content)
  • 2-3 tablespoons granulated white sugar, or to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (I use vanilla sugar)

Directions

  1. Wash and drain strawberries.
  2. Stand strawberries on their wide side. If they do not stand straight slice the bottom off.
  3. Slit strawberries twice  3/4 of the way down in a cross shape (see photos).
  4. Put remaining ingredients in a bowl and beat till fluffy.
  5. Put cream mixture into a icing gun with a star tip.
  6. Squeeze cream into  the middle of the strawberries starting at the bottom moving upward.
  7. Serve on a nice tray.

 

We didn’t cut of the leaves and stem since the instructions said not to. We found it very difficult to take them off while eating so I would recommend cutting the bottom of the strawberries off on all of them.

I hope you try this refreshing treat of Cream filled Strawberries.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Berries, Cream, Cream Cheese and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

