Chocolate Coffee Walnut Cake

It was my sister’s birthday on Thursday and we were staying at our grandma’s summer house. My sister sprang a cake making request at me the day before her birthday so with no recipe books or my own cooking utensils I dove into the fray. I searched the internet quickly and because I wanted a walnut coffee cake those were my search words along with “bundt” since that was the type of pan my grandma had.

I found just the one I was looking for on the first page.  It is a Chocolate Coffee Walnut Bundt Cake. The texture was moist and slightly crumbly. I had to make a few changes since for one I didn’t have a grinder so I chopped the walnuts. This added a little crunch which I think gave something extra special to the cake. I also made a coffee buttercream icing – which was a great combination.

Chocolate Coffee Walnut Bundt Cake

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups (250 grams) all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup (55 grams) finely ground walnuts
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 9 oz (270 grams) butter, unsalted at room temperature
  • 3 oz (90 grams) bitter sweet chocolate, chopped (I used 50% cooking chocolate instead.)
  • 1/4 cup (65 ml) strong coffee
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee (I added 2)
  • 1 3/4 cups (370 grams) white sugar
  • 4 large eggs (I used 5 medium)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup (250 ml) whole milk (I used 1.5 % fat)

Directions

  1. Turn on oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Grease and flour pan.
  3. Grind walnuts. (I just chopped them and added 30 extra grams of flour.)
  4. Whisk flour, walnuts, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl.
  5. In a double boiler, melt 2 tablespoons butter, chocolate along with coffee.
  6. In a large bowl beat remaining butter and sugar into a thick paste.
  7. Beat in eggs one at a time.
  8. Into the egg mixture, add dry ingredients alternatively with milk beginning and ending with flour.
  9. Scrape half the batter into the chocolate mixture and stir until will incorporated.
  10. Pour batters into pan in layers to create a marble effect.
  11. Bake for 65 to 70 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the middle. (I would say check after 60 minutes.)
  12. Cool for 10 minutes in the pan and then on a cooling rack before icing.

When making the batter I put too much into the chocolate mix so as you can see in the picture most of the cake turned out brown. I also made to many layers so some how the chocolate mixed into the white batter. It would probably be better to make 3 or 4 layers in order for them to be more clear.

I found the texture of the cake a bit unusual compared to the fluffy cakes I normally make, but I accredit that to the fact that I rarely use chocolate in my baking preferring cocoa powder due to the price difference.

The coffee icing I used was a simple buttercream which I chose in order to bring out the coffee flavour in the cake. I will add it in an up coming post.

This Chocolate Coffee Walnut Cake was an experience worth the effort despite the few extra steps while making it and the problems that arose while baking in some one else’s kitchen, like using a 1 foot by 1 foot oven for the first time so that the cake rose to the top of the oven and got burned by the coil, I found the results pleasing and so did the birthday girl along with every one else – even the friend who didn’t like coffee. Wow!  That was a mouthful!

Hope you take the time to try and enjoy this recipe. Have a nice weekend!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cakes, everything chocolate, Mocha, Walnut and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

