Chocolate Mousse

We were inviting friends and family over for a dinner consisting of a combination of Indian, Italian, and Spanish food. I decided that I had to make a dessert but had been making way too many cakes recently. I wanted something light and cooling since we were in the middle of summer.

Then it hit me – Chocolate Mousse! I had made chocolate mousse once before so looked through my collection of recipes. I found my super simple recipe and then decided to add a little more flavour – coffee and vanilla.

Chocolate Mousse

Ingredients

  • 320 grams (12 oz) bitter sweet chocolate (I used around 60%)
  • 30 grams (1 oz) unsalted butter
  • 6 eggs, medium
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 teaspoons instant coffee in one tablespoon of hot water, optional
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, optional
for decoration
  • 1 cup (250 ml) whipping cream
  • chocolate curls
  • fresh raspberries, optional

Directions

  1. Separate the eggs, placing the whites into a large bowl.
  2. Cut chocolate and butter into small pieces and put them into a metal pot over simmering water (double boiler).
  3. As they are melting add coffee and stir occasionally.
  4. In the meantime, add a pinch of salt to the egg whites and whisk to the soft peak stage. (I just used salted butter and no additional salt.)
  5. In a separate bowl, break up the yolks.
  6. When the chocolate and butter have melted and have been allowed to cool until warm to touch, stir in the yolks.
  7. Fold in the whites in three batches until thoroughly combined but don’t over mix.
  8. Pour into glasses or bowls and refrigerate for up to 8 hours to set.
  9. Just before serving, whip cream. Put cream into each bowl with either a spoon or an icing gun.
  10. Scrape chocolate bar with a knife and sprinkle chocolate on top of cream.

I decided to double the recipe because we were going to be 12 people. I think the amount per person was perfect.

I will be making this Chocolate Mousse again.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in everything chocolate, No bake and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

