Rainbow Cake

 

This Rainbow Cake was a fun project my daughter and I did together Friday evening. She decided the colours, flavours, did about half the work and then took the photos. Our rainbow didn’t turn out quite as we had hoped but it was a first time experiment.

We used a recipe for a buttery white cake I found on All Recipes, added a little extra milk – as per reviews – then coloured it. My daughter wanted it to be a vanilla cake, so despite the fact that I would have chosen to use 4 different flavours I let her make that important decision since it was her idea to make a rainbow cake in the first place.

Rainbow Cake

Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 cups (305 grams) sifted cake flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 1/2 cups (325 grams) white sugar
  • 3/4 cup (170 grams) butter
  • 1 1/2 cups (375 ml) milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract (if making it all vanilla)
  • 1 teaspoon almond/mint/raspberry/banana extract for layers (optional)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons food colouring, red, yellow, green, blue

Directions

  1. Measure sifted flour, baking powder, and salt; sift together two times.
  2. In a mixing bowl, beat egg whites until foamy. Add 1/2 cup (115 grams) sugar gradually, and continue beating only until meringue will hold up in soft peaks.
  3. Cream butter. Gradually add remaining 1 cup sugar, and cream together until light and fluffy.
  4. Add sifted ingredients alternately with milk a small amount at a time, beating after each addition until smooth.
  5. Mix in vanilla.
  6. Add meringue, and beat thoroughly into batter (I like to for my meringue in).
  7. Divide batter equally into 4 bowls.
  8. Add colour and flavour to each bowl according to your liking.
  9. Pour into pan 9 inch round spring form pan, greased with baking paper on the bottom.
  10. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 60 minutes or a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  11. Cool cake in pan 10 minutes, then remove from pan and transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.

This cake can also be baked in two 9 inch round pans for 30 to 35 minutes or a 15 x 10 x 1 inch pan depending on what your plan is for the cake. You could also double the recipe and bake 5 or 6 layers in 8 inch round pans for 25 to 30 minutes, separately, for a high rise layer cake.

We made a vanilla butter icing for the cake because my daughter didn’t want any one to see the colours before we cut it.

It was great fun for us to see all the bright colours inside the cake and bring a little sunshine and happiness on a plate to every one via the Rainbow Cake.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Vanilla. Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

