Raspberry and Cream Chocolate Layer Cake

Raspberries and Cream

This cake is light, fluffy and fresh with a great combination of chocolate, cream and fruit…who could resist that?! Not me. That’s for sure!

This is actually a recipe for a Black Forest Cake but since I couldn’t get cherries when I needed them I chose raspberries as an alternative. Once the cherries were omitted I knew I would get in trouble with the culinary experts if I didn’t change the name. So that is how a Raspberry and Cream Chocolate Layer Cake came about.

Raspberry and Cream Chocolate Layer Cake

Ingredients

  • 2 1/8 cups (255 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups (450 grams) white sugar
  • 3/4 cup (85 grams) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

 Filling (for a Black Forest cake)

  • 2 (20 ounce) cans pitted sour cherries
  • 1 cup (120 ml) white sugar
  • 1/4 cup (30 grams) cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

topping

  • 3 cups heavy (720 ml) whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup (40 grams) confectioners’ sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour two 9 inch, round, cake pans; cover bottoms with waxed paper.
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, 2 cups sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Add eggs, milk, oil, and 1 tablespoon vanilla; beat until well blended. Pour batter into prepared pans.
  4. Bake for 35 minutes, or until wooden toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean.
  5. Cool layers in pans on wire racks for 10 minutes. Loosen edges, and remove to racks to cool completely.

Berry filling and Cream topping

  1. Drain cherries, reserving 1/2 cup juice. Combine reserved juice, cherries, 1 cup sugar and cornstarch in a 2 quart saucepan.
  2. Cook over low heat until thickened, stirring constantly.
  3. Stir in 1 teaspoon vanilla. Cool before using.
  4. Put whipping cream in a chilled bowl. Beat with an electric mixer at high speed until soft peaks form. Add confectioner’s sugar a bit at a time and beat until stiff peeks form.

Assembling layers

  1. With long serrated knife, split each cake layer horizontally in half.
  2. Crumble one of four layers into crumbs and set aside.
  3. Set aside 1 1/2 cups Cream frosting for decorating the cake.
  4.  Gently brush loose crumbs off top and side of each cake layer with pasty brush or hands.
  5. To assemble, place one cake layer on a cake plate.
  6. Spread with 3/4 cup cherry topping then top with 1 cup frosting.
  7. Top with second cake layer; repeat layers of Cream frosting and Berry topping. Top with third cake layer.
  8. Frost sides of cake.
  9. Pat reserved crumbs onto frosting on the sides of cake.
  10. Spoon reserved frosting into pastry bag fitted with star decorator tip. Pipe around top and bottom edges of cake. Spoon remaining cherry topping onto top of cake.

I couldn’t find caned cherries so I opted for using raspberries instead. I bought raspberry jam with a high fruit content and mixed in about 200 grams of frozen raspberries. I used this as the filling instead. It needs a good amount of berry filling so it can soak into the cake and give it extra moisture and flavour. I feel I used too little so I’ll be sure to use more the next time around.

For the decoration I chose to use chocolate shavings instead of cake crumbs – which meant more cake in the layers. I actually made this cake for my birthday so I made it the day before and froze it to make it easier on myself. It worked out great!!

This is a lovely party cake that I’m sure all cream and chocolate lovers will enjoy. Hope you give this Raspberry and Cream Chocolate Layer Cake or Black Forest Cake a try.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Berries, Cakes, Cream, everything chocolate and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

