Lemon Chocolate Tarts

I was reading through the recipe section in some Danish magazines when I came across a little booklet of chocolate recipes by Hanne Bloch. The recipe I chose to make is called Chokoladetærter which translated is… you guessed it – Chocolate Tarts.

These rich chocolatey tarts with their subtle lemon flavour would make an impressive desert on any occasion. The recipe is for 6 large tarts or in my case 15 small ones (about 2 1/2 inches/4 cm in diameter).

Despite being an avid and addicted chocolate eater, after eating 2 tarts I felt I had had enough for one day – key words “for one day”. I ate more the day after which is today. Of course the texture was different today. After being in the refrigerator for the night, the chocolate filling had hardened and the crust had lost the little crunch it had had but it was still totally delicious!!

Lemon Chocolate Tarts

Work time: 45 min.

Waiting time: 30 min.

Baking time: 15 min.

Ingredients

  • 200 grams flour
  • 150 grams butter
  • 75 grams confectionery sugar
  • 1 egg, small

Filling

  • 200 grams chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 200 ml ( 2 dl) whipping cream
  • 1 egg, medium
  • lemon zest, from half a lemon (about 1 1/2 teaspoons)

Decoration

  • 100 grams white chocolate
  • other options – whipped cream, chocolate shavings

Directions

  1. Pre heat oven to 175 degrees.
  2. Cut the cold butter in to the flour and then mix in the confectionery sugar.
  3. Add the lightly beaten egg and bring the dough together. Don’t over mix or the butter will melt. Let the dough stand for for 30 minutes.
  4. Roll out the dough, cut it into rounds and put them into the tart forms. Prick them with a fork.
  5. Bake tart shells for 5 minutes.

Filling

  1. In a small pot, bring cream to boiling temperature then remove from heat.
  2. Whisk in chopped chocolate a little at a time.
  3. Beat egg and then whisk it into chocolate mixture along with lemon zest.
  4. Pour filling into tart shells evenly and bake tarts for 10 minutes.

Decoration

  1. When the tarts are completely cool, melt white chocolate in a double boiler or microwave taking out and mixing every 15 seconds until smooth.
  2. Put warm chocolate into an icing gun and decorate tarts with spirals or other designs.
  3. Another option for decoration is whipped cream and chocolate shavings or cocoa powder.

I had some trouble with the crust. I think using a medium egg made the dough too sticky so I could not roll it out properly. I ended up spooning the dough into my muffin cups (I don’t have any tart forms yet) and only figured out how to get it to look like a tart on my second try. I’m glad my family is forgiving and tasted them before judging them.

I never used melted chocolate in an icing gun to decorate before – it was so incredibly easy and I think it looks really classy.

Well, that’s it for the Lemony Chocolate Tarts. They are definitely worth a try. Please tell me if you try the recipe and how it turns out for you.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in everything chocolate, Lemon, Pies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

