Creamy Cheese and Ham Pasta

Creamy Cheese and Ham Pasta

School started this week and that included – ME. It’s time for those speedy meals again, including, tortilla wraps, tuna pasta salad, baked fish and chips, and home made pizza. I can now add a new one to my list: ham and cheese pasta.

I was reading recipes a few weeks ago when I came across a cheese macaroni recipe. It brought to mind the many times I had eaten it as a child. As a child however, we never had meat added to it just good old cheese. Now a days with the high protein diet I try to stick to, I like to include extra protein where ever I can. So in this case, ham is a perfect addition.

I used the basic idea of ingredients from a recipe in allrecipes.com but used only half the pasta, double the ham and other ingredients I had on hand. Ham and cheese pasta is so simple to make and easy to eat…even the picky little one gobbled it up in no time.

Ham and Cheese Pasta

Serving size: 3 medium eaters

Ingredients

  • 100 grams pasta, of your choice, make it cute
  • 400 grams ham, cubed or shredded and fried or boiled
  • 170 grams grated mozzarella, or your favorate cheese
  • 1/4 cup (55 grams) butter
  • 1 clove garlic, minced (I grate it in my smallest grater.)
  • 1/4 cup (30 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 cups (450 ml) milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon prepared mustard
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I used about 30 grams)
  • bread crumbs (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cyan peper, to taste (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until al dente; drain.
  3. In a large saucepan over medium heat, melt butter. Saute garlic 30 seconds. Whisk in flour, salt and pepper. Cook and stir until smooth. Pour in milk, a little at a time, stirring constantly. Bring to a boil for 1 minute. Stir in mustard and cheese. Continue to cook, stirring occasionally, until cheese is melted. Remove from heat and stir in pasta and ham.
  4. Pour into a baking dish. Sprinkle with Parmesan mixed with bread crumbs.
  5. Bake 20 to 25 minutes, until bubbly and golden.

Cheese pasta is great to make on a day when your stretched for time. It will will also help your belly feel toasty warm on a chilly day – great comfort food!

Try it…you just might like it.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Savoury and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creamy Cheese and Ham Pasta

  1. Just by looking at the photo, i was literally drooling, the next thing i knew that i have to eat it RIGHT NOW! :p Good post 😀

    Like

  2. This sounds great!

    Like

How do you like it?

