Sweet and Simple Vanilla Pudding

Vanilla Pudding

I know this is a simple recipe and I haven’t posted in a while but it couldn’t be helped. Studying uses any where from 8 to 11 hours of my time 5 days a week and another 8 on the weekend; then there are kids, cleaning, “normal” cooking, and all the rest that is part of life.

I actually made most of this pudding for an Layered Orange Angel Cake I made last weekend and then saved some of it to eat separately. I’ll be posting that recipe when I get …no, make time for it. I got this recipe from Joy of Baking and it worked out well.

Vanilla Pudding

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 cups (840 ml) whole milk
  • 1/3 cup (65 grams) plus 1/4 cup (50 grams) granulated white sugar
  • 1/4 cup (30 grams) cornstarch (corn flour)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla bean paste or pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon (15 grams) unsalted butter

Garnish:

  •  Lightly sweetened whipped cream and chopped nuts (walnuts, pecans, or almonds)

Directions

  1.  In a large bowl whisk together 1/3 cup (65 grams) sugar, cornstarch, salt, eggs, and egg yolk.
  2. Whisk in 1/2 cup (120 ml) of the milk. Set aside while you heat the rest of the milk and sugar. Have ready a fine medium-sized strainer and bowl as you will need to strain the pudding after it is cooked.
  3. First, rinse a medium-sized heavy saucepan with cold water and then shake out the excess water. (Doing this step prevents the milk from scorching.) Then pour the remaining 3 cups (720 ml) of milk, along with the remaining 1/4 cup (50 grams) of sugar, into the saucepan and bring just to a boil.
  4. Remove from heat and gradually pour the hot milk into the egg mixture, whisking constantly, until the mixture is smooth. Transfer the pudding mixture to a clean, large heavy bottomed saucepan and place over medium-low heat. Cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens to the consistency of mayonnaise (about 3-5 minutes).
  5. Remove from heat and whisk in the butter and vanilla extract. If necessary, pour through the strainer to remove any lumps that may have formed during cooking.
  6. Pour the pudding into six or eight serving dishes, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate until well chilled, about two hours.
  7. Serve warm, cold, or at room temperature with a large dollop of softly whipped cream and chopped nuts

I tasted the pudding warm and cold and I think the vanilla aroma was more satisfying and the texture felt more creamy when it was warm…very comforting for one’s taste buds.

Vanilla pudding is also useful at other occasions, such as, with fruit salad  or as filling in a layer cake. It is also easy to add other flavours when it has just finished cooking – in my case orange.

Well, that’s it for this week’s desert allotment – happiness can still be found in the simple things in life.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cream, orange, Pudding and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sweet and Simple Vanilla Pudding

  1. Thank you for this recipe. It looks wonderful and is a great addition to my collection of gluten free desserts.
    What are you studying?

    Like

  2. I love a good pudding recipe!

    Like

How do you like it?

