Brownie Peanut Butter Cups

Chewy brownie peanut butter cups

It’s almost the end of the month (can you believe I wrote this 2 weeks ago?) and I have only posted one recipe…I can’t believe it. It’s not that I haven’t been baking, it’s just that it takes time to put pen to paper or in this case fingers (one from each hand) to keyboard. I did a typing tutor program for a few months a few years back but what I learned never really stuck.

I actually baked a chocolate cake for my daughter to take to school on her birthday 2 weeks ago; a chocolate cake, lemon bars and these peanut butter cups for her class when they came over to our house for a party; and 3 different cakes for my kids´ joint party when my family came over 1 week ago and another 3 for my son’s birthday yesterday.

Wow!! I didn’t even realize how many cakes I’d baked this month! So here is a great recipe I found on Chew Out Loud.

Brownie Peanut Butter Cups

Directions

  • 3/4 cup (90 gram) white sugar
  • 1/4 cup (55 grams) regular butter
  • 1 TB water
  • 3/4 cup (125 grams) semi sweet chocolate, chopped, for melting
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (115 grams) flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter chips
  • 1/2 cup (  75 grams) semi sweet chocolate chips

Ingredients

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Line muffin pan with liners.  Spray liners with oil. (I use  muffin cups.)
  2. In large glass bowl, combine sugar, butter, and water, and microwave until butter is melted (about 1 min).
  3. Stir in 3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips until melted.  Mix in egg and vanilla extract.
  4. In separate bowl, mix flour and baking soda to combine.  Add flour mixture to melted chocolate mixture, stirring until blended.
  5.  Stir in 1/2 cup peanut butter chips and 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips.  Spoon batter by heaping tablespoonfuls into liners.
  6. Bake 13 minutes, or until top looks set, but toothpick inserted in center comes out somewhat wet (it will set up once cooled.)  Place muffin pan on wire rack for 5-10 minutes, to allow centers to fall upon cooling.  If centers don’t fall, tap centers gently to make a hole.
  7. While brownies are still hot, place peanut butter in microwave for 45 seconds and stir.  Spoon about a tablespoon of peanut butter into each brownie center.  Decorate with semi sweet chocolate chips.  Allow to set a little and enjoy
  • 1/3 cup semi sweet chocolate chips, for garnish
  • 3/4 cup (185 grams) creamy peanut butter

These make a great snack and in my case gift. I wraped up a chocolate peanut butter cup and 3 pieces of lemon bar for each of my daughter´s classmates to take home after her birthday party.

Hope you try these and enjoy them as much as we did.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in everything chocolate, Peanutbutter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

