Pumpkin Layer Cake

Pumpkin Cake

I’m going for all pumpkin deserts for about  month. So far I have made Pumpkin Brownie Muffins and a Pumpkin Roll and now for my first ever Pumpkin Cake.

I used a 9 inch spring form pan and a bunt pan to make a two layer cake.  When I tasted the cake after it had cooled slightly, (I can’t wait to taste things until after they are served.) it was moist and tasted like autumn spices. I could have eaten it right then…but then I wouldn’t have been able to decorate it – which I was eager to do even though I didn’t really have a plan for how I was going to accomplish it.

Pumpkin Cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 (450 grams) cups sugar
  • 1 cup (250 ml) vegetable oil
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 cups (240 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground clove
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree or cooked mashed and strained pumpkin
  • cream cheese frosting, below
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Directions:

Directions for pumpkin cake

  • Combine sugar, vegetable oil, and eggs in a large mixing bowl; mix well.
  • Sift dry ingredients into a separate bowl; stir into oil mixture, beating well.
  • Stir in pumpkin puree.
  • Pour batter into two greased and floured 9-inch round layer cake pans.
  • Bake at 350° for 35 to 40 minutes.
  • Turn out onto racks to cool.
  • Frost pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting and sprinkle with chopped pecans. (Or add your own decorations.)

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1/4 cup (55 grams) butter
  • 8 ounces (220 grams) cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 pound (450 grams) confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Combine all ingredients in large mixing bowl; beat well until smooth. Makes enough for 2-layer pumpkin cake.

Sliced Pumpkin Cake

My decorations came about by adding food coloring to a little cream cheese icing. I started with yellow and slowly added a few drops of red at a time to get different shades of orange. I then topped it off by letting by son and niece add some black sugar stars to it in order to create some contrast. I am very happy with the result! I think it worked quite well.

Hope you are enjoying a pumpkin feast as well. Have a great weekend!!

– Sara

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Pumpkin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Layer Cake

  1. Veronica says:

    The crumb on your cake looks so perfect, moist & buttery & dense and just wonderful.

    Like

How do you like it?

