Pumpkin Cream Cheese Roll

I was looking through Pinterest, which I do every once in a while, and saw a picture of a pumpkin roll. I followed the link which lead me to the blog Take a Mega Bite.

The recipe looked easy enough so I gave it a try. It was totally worth all the effort I put into cooking and puréeing the pumpkin. Yes, you read right. I cut a huge pumpkin in half, scooped out the seeds and then baked the whole thing to cook it. I then chopped and froze half of it and puréed and froze the other half.  Now I am set for all my future pumpkin adventures.

Pumpkin Cream Cheese Roll

Pumpkin Roll

Ingredients

Cake:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup (210 grams) sugar
  • 2/3 cup pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • dash of cloves
  • 3/4 cup (85 grams) flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
Cream cheese filling:
  • 1 cup (110 grams) powdered sugar
  • 6 oz. (160 grams) cream cheese softened
  • 3 tablespoons (45 grams) butter
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • scant 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup (I used thick white honey)
Directions:
  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F.
  2. Line and grease a 15×10 inch baking tray.
  3. Beat eggs on high speed for 5 minutes, or until frothy. Add sugar and mix until combined.
  4. Stir in pumpkin, spices, flour, baking powder, and salt.
  5. Spread in prepared pan, and smooth out as much as you can.
  6. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until cake springs back when gently pressed in the center.
  7. While the cake is baking, generously sprinkle a kitchen towel with powdered sugar. (This is a very important step or the cake will stick to the towel.)
  8. Remove the cake from the oven and turn out onto the sprinkled towel. Peel away the wax paper, and roll cake and towel up together to cool for 30 minutes or until mostly cool, but not cold.
  9. Make the cream cheese filling, by beating the powdered sugar, cream cheese, butter, vanilla, and maple syrup together.
  10. Unroll cake and spread with filling. Re-roll and sprinkle with powered sugar or decorate with cream cheese filling or white chocolate.
  11. Slice and serve, or wrap in plastic wrap and chill until time to serve

Slice of Pumpkin roll

Well, all I have to say was that it was delicious. We all enjoyed it and I am thinking about making it again soon.
Have a good weekend.
– Sara
About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cream Cheese, icing, Pumpkin, Rolls and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pumpkin Cream Cheese Roll

  1. victoria hawron says:

    Yumm looks good, we are doing Thanksgiving this year with everyone bring a plate or two. I had decide to do a deep dish pumpkin pie and corn bread let me know if you have any tips x

    Like

    • everyvariety says:

      Hi Victoria. Thanks for vistiting again. Sorry to say I don’t have much experience with either of then dishes. The last time I made a pumpkin pie was about 5 years ago. I have been planning on making one but haven’t decided what recipe to make yet. Wish I could help. If you make a pumpkin pie before I do let me know how it turns out.

      Like

  2. silverwaters says:

    I have a favorite corn bread recipe if you’re interested…

    Like

How do you like it?

