Torte Egyptian – in other words Hazelnut, Caramel and Cream Layer Cake

Hazelnut Cream Cake

Hazelnut Cream Cake

I found this recipe (once again) on Pinterest…what a joy! I had just enough hazelnuts for it, which is what helped me determine whether I was going to make it or not. We all (parents, kids, grandma and great grandma) enjoyed the cake with its nutty creamy taste and texture. The caramel adds a little extra pizzazz – which you don’t want to miss out on.

The original torte  recipe is a little different. I adapted recipe to suit the ingredients I could find easily.

Torte Egyptian

For one cake layer

  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon flour
  • 40 grams ground hazelnuts
  1. Preheat oven to 170°C
  2. Beat egg whites, add sugar and beat more.
  3. Gradually, fold in sifted flour and hazelnuts.
  4. Bake in a greased 20 cm diameter spring form pan in a  for about 25 minutes.

The original cake calls for 3 cakes. I actually didn’t realize at first that the above recipe was only for 1 cake. So after making the first and then realizing how small it was, I opted for only making 2 cakes.

Yellow filling

  • 10 egg yolks
  • 10 tablespoons sugar
  • 5 1/2 tablespoons flour
  • 20 grams vanilla sugar
  • 340 ml milk
  • 170 grams butter
  1. Cook egg yolks, sugar, flour, vanilla sugar and milk on low heat until very thick stirring continuously.
  2. Beat butter till pale and fluffy.
  3. Beat in  cooled yolk cream till incorporated.

Hazelnut cream cake with caramel topping

Crunchy whipped cream filling

  • 250 ml whipping cream
  • 200 grams White sugar
  • 120 g toasted hazelnuts, chopped
  1. Whip the cream. Stop just before it reaches the stiff peak stage.
  2. Prepare a baking tray covered with wax paper.
  3. Melt sugar by putting it in a thick bottomed pot on medium-high temperature on the stove. Mix once in a while. You will notice the sugar melting slowly after about 5 or 10 minutes. Continue mixing every 10 seconds. It melts very similarly to chocolate only taking much longer. As the sugar melts it will start turning brown – turn the heat down to medium-low and cook until completely melted.
  4. Pour the melted sugar onto the baking paper and spread it very thin. Work quickly! When it’s completely cooled, separate it from the paper and crush with a rolling pin. Do not powder it as it will give this layer it’s crunchiness along with the nuts.
  5. Fold chopped nuts and most of the caramel into the whipped cream. Save some caramel for decorating.

Assembling: Place one cake on a serving plate, cover with yellow filling and then crunchy cream one. Repeat for the two remaining cakes.

Hazelnut and Cream Cake

Hazelnut and Cream Cake

I wasn’t sure about what the crunch of caramel would do to the cake so I didn’t put it in the whipped cream but only used it for decoration. I regret this as I think it would have been a great contrast to the soft creamy texture of the rest of the cake.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Caramel, Cream, Nuts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

