Crackly Dyed Easter Eggs

Putting food coloring on the cracked eggs

Putting food coloring on the cracked egg

Today was the first time I colored eggs like this. I got the idea from a picture I saw on Pinterest. The result was amazing but it is a very time consuming task to peel them after coloring them. As you can see from the picture, it is not necessary to use much coloring as it spreads out along the cracks.

Peeling the dyed egg

Peeling the dyed egg

The secret to keeping the color bright is to remove only the shell and not skin under it. Half the fun is peeling the egg and seeing what bright designs are waiting underneath.

Crackly Easter Eggs

If you have the time and want to make an impression, these eggs are a great addition to an Easter lunch. The kids were so excited to see them. My 5 year old said they looked like spider webs. I made a few different types and colors because 2 of the kids like soft boiled eggs and 3 of the kids like hard boiled. We all enjoyed them.

What kind of eggs do you make on Easter? Do you have a family tradition?

Happy Easter every one! Have a great Sunday!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Eggs, Savoury and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

