No Carb Pizza – Zucchini and Egg plant base

Egg plant and zucchini pizza

As I sit here the rain is pouring down by the bucket loads giving me warm thoughts of hot juicy food. It is strange how the weather can change so fast here in Denmark. From one minute to the next it is warm and sunny and the next there is lightning, thunder and rain. My thoughts changed with the weather from fresh salads to hot baked goods.

I have read lasagna recipes that use zucchini instead of pasta but never seriously considered making it. The other day I had an egg plant and half a zucchini I wanted to use so I decided to try an idea I saw on Pinterest. I made mini pizzas using the egg plant and zucchini as the base. I added tomato sauce, pepperoni, cheese and herbs. Annnnd…the healthiest pizza ever.

I am not going to write an exact recipe but just the basic steps.

First pre-heat your oven to 200 degrees F. Slice zucchini and eggplant to about 1 cm thick. Spread on your favorite pizza sauce or ketchup. Layer with pepperoni or other desired topping. Finally cover with grated cheese and Italian herbs. Bake for 10 to 15 minutes until the base is tender. Eat hot. Yummm!

This is a great way to feed veggies to the whole family. Even the little 5 year old who has a hard time with most veggies managed to eat a few. I think this will be a recipe I will use again in the future. Perhaps you’ll try it too?

– Sara

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in No flour cake, Pizza, Savoury and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

