All I want for summer is … salad? ice cream? – humus and tzatziki

20130728_192555

I can’t believe I’ve been blogging for 2 years now.  Just got a notification from WordPress letting me know.  I feel kind of ashamed of the amount of posts I have written in the last year. Though I think it is good to have a break sometimes, not a year long one, however, and come back feeling inspired to start up again rather than under pressure to faithfully complete one every week. Well, no one is paying me to write so I can easily excuse myself. Ha.

I’m very happy with my cooking today. I didn’t bake – I did that yesterday and the day before making zucchini banana muffins and apple cake with barely ripe apples from our garden. Our apple trees are a little sad this year since the landlord got trigger happy with his electric saw last autumn and cut all the branches off our 6 apple trees, 2 plum trees and 3 pear trees. We’ll be lacking in fruit this year – sad.  Hopefully the trees will make it up to us next year with bigger, sweeter and better fruit. As the saying/song goes “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. ”

Back to my food.  While visiting Canada for my brother’s wedding – just got back 2 weeks ago (lovely trip by the way) – we ate in an Italian restaurant, more than once. I can’t remember the name of the dish but basically it was flat garlic bread served with humus and tzatziki. It was brilliant! We ordered it again the next time we ate there.

It’s been so hot the last week, a Danish high of 26 degrees F, that I couldn’t bare to eat another hot meal… salad was my dream, along with cold coffee and frozen fruit smoothies.  And so I went looking for lunch ideas to eat for dinner.  Yes, on Pinrerest. I saw a suggestion of eating tzatziki in pita bread along with other salad ingredients. A light came on for me as this suggestion rang a bell in my head reminding me of the dish I had eaten in Calgary.  So it was decided and I went about finding recipes and buying ingredients.

I had never made humus before but it couldn’t have been easier. And best of all my daughter enjoyed it enough to say I need to make it again soon. So here is the recipe I found on allrecipes.com.

Humus

Ingredients

  • 1 clove garlic, chopped (I would use more next time.)
  • 1 (19 ounce)(I used 480 grams drained) can chickpeas, half the liquid reserved
  • 4 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions

  1. In a blender, chop the garlic. (I grated it by hand to be sure it was paste.) Pour chickpeas into blender, reserving about a tablespoon for garnish. Place lemon juice, tahini, salt and half the reserved liquid in blender. Blend until creamy and well mixed. Add as much liquid as needed till the desired consistency is attained.
  2. Transfer the mixture to a medium serving bowl. Sprinkle with pepper and pour olive oil over the top. Garnish with reserved chickpeas.

I actually just dumped all the ingredients in and blended them forgetting to save anything for garnish…it seemed to turn out alright. Well that is all for today. I’ll post the tzatziki recipe next.

These kinds of cool foods are great to serve and eat during summer. Hope you are enjoying some refreshing foods as well. What summer foods have you been eating?

Have a good week!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Savoury and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

