Eye candy – Romanesco broccoli or Roman cauliflower

I discovered a cool new vegetable the other day. I had no idea what it was when I bought it but it looked like a mix between cauliflower and broccoli and it was on SALE! When veggies are on sale I swoop them up quick!  I love having lots of different kinds of veggies on hand both frozen and fresh. Here it is called Romanesko. I looked it up on line and it has 2 names Romanesco broccoli or Roman cauliflower. Romanesco

The texture is closer to a cauliflower’s, just a little firmer but the taste is closer to that of broccoli – slightly green tasting when raw. I cooked it like I would cauliflower – added it to a chicken stir-fry once and steamed it once adding salt and butter. As long as you don’t cook them too long they remain bright green and retain their beautiful shape.

Romanesco cauliflower

 

It is full of vitamin C and fiber. A great health food! If you ever come across it you should give it a try. It will add a little pizzazz to your day…eye candy!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Savoury and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

