Melt in Your Mouth Chocolate Chip Meringues

Chocolate Chip Meringues are so delicious. When freshly baked they are slightly chewy and melt in your mouth. The next day they are airy and dissolve in your mouth. I made these because I wanted to make a flourless desert. I didn’t want a huge cake or anything because I was just cooking for myself and 2 kids – since Papa is out of town. I found this recipe on Pinterest at this site and adapted it slightly. The recipe makes about 20 2 inch meringues.

Chocolate chip meringue

Ingredients

  • 2 egg whites, room temperature
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup (115 grams) white sugar (I would use less next time it was very sweet)
  • 6 ounces (170 grams) chocolate chips, miniature chips or finely diced semi or bittersweet chocolate
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (optional, I didn’t use them)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees C.
  2. Beat egg whites until foamy.
  3. Add salt, vinegar and vanilla, and beat mixture again until it holds soft peaks.
  4. Add the sugar, gradually, beating the batter until it is stiff.
  5. Fold in chocolate chips.
  6. Spoon batter onto parchment paper-lined baking sheets. Bake for 25 minutes. Undersides of cookies should be golden or lightly tanned.

I got a little worried after 15 minutes that the meringues were cooking too fast so I turned the temperature down a little but when the cooking time was finished they were still very pale. I took them out anyway. Once they were cool they were very slightly chewy on the outside and incredibly soft on the inside. Personally I would have preferred them a little more cooked but my daughter said she preferred them the way they were.

I think I’ll try these again with different flavors and additions – they are an incredibly light yet sweet-tooth satisfying snack or desert. What flavors have you tried? What is your favorite?

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
Aside | This entry was posted in everything chocolate, Meringue, No flour cake, Nuts, Walnut and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Melt in Your Mouth Chocolate Chip Meringues

  1. silverwaters says:

    Oh, yum! Looks easy enough, gotta try it!

    Like

How do you like it?

