Chocolate Mousse, Cream and Strawberry-filled Roulade

I recently made this Roulade/Cake roll to take to work with me. I regret not having made more since it was good enough to share – with everyone…if only I had made enough! I was torn between making a roll with chocolate filling or one with whipped cream and strawberries. It was my daughter who told me I should combine the two – and it was PERFECT!

Chocolate Mousse Roulade

The base I chose was a flourless chocolate one which I posted here. I’ll post the mousse recipe I used, here in this post. I chose this recipe because I wanted to make one that used eggs and whipping cream. It is one I have made several times before. The original recipe is here. As usual, I adapted the recipe slightly to make things easier for myself.

Chocolate Mousse Roulade

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Ingredients:

120 grams chocolate (around 50% cacao), chopped
5 tablespoons boiling water
2 tablespoons Dutch-process cocoa powder
1 teaspoon instant coffee powder
2 eggs, separated
1 tablespoon granulated sugar, divided
⅛ teaspoon salt
1 cup + 2 tablespoons heavy cream

Instructions:

  1. Chop chocolate. Put in a medium bowl.
  2. Add cocoa powder.
  3. Mix coffee with boiling water and pour over chocolate. (the water is so hot it is almost enough to melt the chocolate completely. If it is not totally melted up in microwave oven for 10 seconds at a time, mixing in between.
  4. Beat egg yolks with 1 1/2 tsp sugar and salt till slightly pale and thick.
  5. Slowly whisk in chocolate.
  6. Beat egg whites till foamy. Add 1 1/2 tsp sugar and beat until the soft peak stage.
  7. Whip about 1/4 egg whites into the chocolate mixture. Add the rest of the egg whites and fold in until only a few white streaks remain.
  8. Beat whipping cream until soft peaks form and then fold into chocolate mixture until no white streaks remain. It’s READY!

By this time the roulade cake had been cooling for a while so just spread the mousse on right away. I only ended up using about 2/3 of the mousse in the roll because the cake was so thin I thought it might not support too much weight.

Chocolate Mousse Roulade

Cream and strawberry filling

I then whipped up 1 cup of cream (38%) with 1 tbs of sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla sugar until it was almost at the stiff peak stage, folded in one cup of chopped fresh strawberries, rolled it up length wise (to make a longer roll), wrapped it in baking paper and tinfoil and put it in the freezer. Shocking!! Well, I was going to take it to work the next day and I wanted it to be in good condition. After 2 hours of being out of the freezer, the ends were slightly defrosted and by the time 4 hours had gone by it was totally back to its soft self.

Of course, the strawberries were softer than they were when they were fresh but it didn’t ruin the taste in the least. It was totally tasty and popular. I’m sure I’ll have to make it again soon. It’s a 100% must try recipe!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

