White Cake with Rhubarb-lemon Filling, Mixed Berry Filling or Chocolate Pudding Filling

Wayyyyy tooo many words in that title!! White cake with rhubarb-lemon filling, mixed berry filling or chocolate pudding filling! The reason for that is that I have used the same cake recipe with 3 different fillings. And they all turned out delicious.

The first time I made it for my sister´s birthday with the lemon-rhubarb filling, and the second was 2 cakes for my son´s 8th birthday – the berry filling was his choice and the chocolate pudding was mine.

white cake with lemon curd rhubarb filling

The only change I made to the cake was not using the almond essence since that doesn´t seem too popular in our family gatherings.

The cake recipe is from Lighter and Local. It is a no fuss recipe, easy to make and turned out great with out any problems. The first time I made just one cake and the second time I used it to make 2 two tire cakes.

I also used the recipe for the lemon curd from the same blog. The only chance I made was with the rhubarb compote. I didn´t have enough rhubarb and didn´t even bother to weigh it. I just boiled it with a little sugar, lemon and butter till it was soft enough to fall apart when mixed with a spoon (since I wanted to keep a little of the texture of the rhubarb). I then folded it into the lemon curd when everything was cooled. I choose just to cover the whole cake with whipped cream and decorate it with fruit.

The second time around was just a couple weeks ago I made this chocolate pudding and layered it inside along with whipped cream and on the top as well. I didn´t take any good pictures…people just started gobbling it up! I didn´t let the pudding sit in the fridge for long enough so is was slightly too liquid for a cake filling but tasted totally delicious! My daughter and I fought over the leftover pudding the next day. Ha!! We ended up dividing it very equally in half. Or maybe I got a spoonful more…shhhh.

White cake with chocolate pudding filling

For the second cake I boiled some blueberries, raspberries, and strawberries with a little sugar and vanilla, and added a little thickening agent used for jams. Once cooled, I blended it and it was ready to be layer in the cake. I whipped some cream and spread that in between the layers and on top as well.

White cake with berry filling

As you can see the pictures of the cake aren´t worth looking at, but that in no way took away from the tastiness. (I was also in kind of a rush to finish them so didn´t think through the decorating part of things.)

Well, I will recommend this cake with what ever filling you feel like adding. Hope you try it and enjoy it like we did. Have a splendid week ahead!!

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Berries, everything chocolate, Lemon, Rhubarb and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

