Easy Chicken Caesar Salad

I’ve determined to start up posting again, beginning with this Chicken Caesar Salad I made for dinner tonight. My daughter wanted a meat salad and so I went to Pinterest for solutions. At this moment in my life, Pinterest  is the best, and my go-to in time of need.

ceaser salad

As usual, I adapted the recipe slightly to make it easier for myself. The recipe is found in Cooking Classy. I think I’ll just give a brief run-down of what I did.

Ingredients:

  • 450 grams chicken breast, fried and sliced thinly
  • leaves of iceberg lettuce, cut in 2 cm pieces
  • 5 slices white bread, cut in 1 cm pieces
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
  • Greek yoghurt Caesar dressing (recipe follows)
  • olive oil dressing, for croutons (recipe follows)
Caesar Salad Dressing:
Mix ingredients together in a medium bowl. (I didn’t use all the dressing.)
  • 1/2 cup 10% fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • black pepper to taste
  • Salt to taste
  • 2 small cloves garlic, pressed through a garlic press
sal
Croutons:
Bake bread cubes at 180 degrees C for 5 mins. Remove and drizzle with olive oil mix. Bake 5 mins more. Stir around and bake 5 mins longer. (I actually forgot mine in the oven a bit too long so they were a tad bit too brown.)
  • 5 slices white bread

Mix together

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large clove garlic, pressed through a garlic press
  • 1/4 each salt and black pepper

 

Toss, as they say, (though for me it’s more like mix) all ingredients together. Voilà…it’s ready to serve and eat.  My version is only enough for 2 hungry salad lovers since I didn’t use much lettuce.

This is a good recipe I’m sure I’ll use again. Hope you feel like trying it too. Cheers

 

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

