Lemon Cheese Strawberry Jelly Cake

My BIRTHDAY cake! On my birthday this year, I made a layer cake, which for the first time ever, included jelly. It was a Lemon cake with a cream cheese lemon icing and mixed berry jelly with whole strawberries inside. This cake was inspired by some cakes I saw in a bakery in Hamburg, Germany earlier in the year. They didn’t have as many layers and I don’t actually know what flavor the cake was, but at that moment I added it to my mental birthday to do list.

WP_20160528_13_34_56_Pro

Ha Ha!! Yes, I put the cake on the grass to take pictures. I couldn’t help myself. I just loved all the buttercups that were growing in the lawn.

This cake is a mixture of a few different recipe ideas. The only recipe I actually followed is the one for the lemon cake. It is actually a white sheet cake. I chose to make a thin cake and then cut it into circles to save on baking time. It worked out better than I expected = happiness! I served it with some No Churn Blueberry Ice cream which I wrote about previously.

Here is the cake recipe I used from Eat Cake for Dinner with an addition of lemon.

Lemon Sheet Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (225 grams) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup (250 ml) water
  • 2 cups (240 grams) sugar
  • 2 1/4 cups (485 grams) white flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla sugar
  • 1/2 cup (125 ml)  cremé fraiche (I used yoghurt the second time I made it)
  • rind from 1 lemon
  • 3 Tbsp lemon juice, from 1 lemon

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 165 degrees C.
  2. Melt butter in water in a large pot over medium-low heat.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in the sugar, flour, salt, vanilla sugar and baking soda. Whisk until smooth.
  4. Stir in eggs and then the sour cream and mix until blended.
  5. Pour the batter into a 30 by 40 cm baking tray covered with greased baking paper.
  6. Bake for 20 minutes or until the cake springs back when lightly touched or a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

 

WP_20160528_13_51_05_Pro

Once the cake was cooled, I cut 2 circles out of it. Unfortunately, the size I wanted was too big so the upper layer is actually 2 pieces of cake. Fortunately, there is no way to see that…so, shhh, dont tell anyone.

The Cream Cheese Whipping Cream Icing I tend to keep coming back to is this one. Very easy to make and it’s not a big deal if you add flavors or use more or less of any of the ingredients. It is the perfect amount for one cake.

Cream Cheese Whipping Cream Icing

Ingredients:

  • 1 (200 gram) package cream cheese, cold
  • 3/4 cup  white sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups (375 ml) 38% fat whipping cream, cold
  • Lemon juice, from 1 lemon
  • Lemon rind, from 1 lemon

Instructions:

  1. Beat the cream cheese until smooth.
  2. Add sugar and beat until you cant feel the grains of sugar when rubbing a little between 2 fingres.
  3. Add salt, vanilla sugar, lemon juice and rind. Mix.
  4. Add whipping cream and beat till stiff peaks form.

I then made the jelly without following any recipe.

Mixed Berry Jelly

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (250 ml) 4 in 1 mixed berry fruit juice concentrate
  • 1 cup (250 ml) water
  • 10 sheets of gelatin (17 grams)
  • 200 grams strawberries (sliced or whole), optional

Instructions:

  1. Mix juice concentrate and water in a pot on the stove over medium heat.
  2. Add gelatin sheets one at a time while mixing gently to dissolve.
  3. When dissolved remove from heat and allow to cool to room temperature or 30 mins.

WP_20160528_14_01_48_ProOnce the parts for all the layers are ready, start assembling it. I used a spring form pan to assemble the cake in with and extra metal ribbon around the inside because I could see the pan wasn’t tall enough. Layers of cake, cream, cake, cream, the strawberries and then finally pour on the jelly. I kept the strawberries whole but I think it would have been easier to cut the cake and everyone would have been happier if the strawberries had been spread out over the entire cake. Put the cake in the fridge until the jelly is set. I left it in over night since I didn’t want to make the cake on my birthday like I usually end up doing.

It was another lovely cake that everyone enjoyed.

I made it again for my students and colleagues at work the week after. I decided to use rhubarb for my colleagues instead of strawberries and it added a whole different dimension to the cake. I boiled the sliced rhubarb for a few minutes with some sugar before layering it on top of the cream cheese icing. In my eyes the cake was a flop. Because I left the cake in the big baking pan when I poured on the jelly, it ran down around and under the cake. This meant the cake was maybe more moist then it should have been? But it still tasted fab! A number of people even asked me for the recipe. So by popular demand, Here It Is!

Hope someone will enjoy sharing their cake as much as I did. Have a lovely week ahead!

 

About everyvariety

I am Danish but lived in India for many years. I am married to a Spaniard and have two adorable children. I know that food makes most people happy, so I find great joy in cooking for others when they enjoy what I spent my time and effort making. I think all the love I add to the food also makes it taste better. I try to publish at least once a week on the weekend as that is when I get time to do some baking myself. For now I am mostly publishing baking recipes since that is what I enjoy the most.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Cream, Cream Cheese, Jelly, Lemon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon Cheese Strawberry Jelly Cake

  1. Lesya says:

    It’s sooooo yummy! Thank you for recipe!

How do you like it?

