Solæg or Pickled Eggs

After hearing about solæg from many of my Danish friends and colleagues, I decided it was time to try them for myself. Since it was Easter, I felt now was the best time. I Googled solæg and when I saw a recipe I liked I set about the 2-day process. These eggs are often eaten as an appetiser or a snack along with snaps or beer.

I love recipes with extra flare so I chose a recipe that called for cracking the shell of the boiled egg before soaking them in the salt and onion peel solution. They turned out beautifully.

Solægg or pickled eggs

The recipe I used is from Gastromand. Of corse, it’s in Danish (since it’s a south Danish speciality) so I’ll just write up what I did here. Since I only made 7 eggs as an experiment so had to adapt the recipe.

pickling eggs

Ingredients

  • 7 small or medium eggs
  • 2 tbsp salt
  • peel from 2 red onions
  • one big glass jar that fits all your eggs
  • mustard, tabasco sauce and vinegar for filling

solæg

Instructions

  1. Boil the eggs for 15 to 20 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, boil the onion peels in enough water to cover the eggs once they are in the jar you are going to use.
  3. Once the eggs are almost cooled, crack the shells all around by tapping gently with a spoon. Place eggs in the jar.
  4. Take out the onion peels once the water is cooled and pour the water over the eggs making sure they are all submerged. Let them soak for 2-3 days.
  5. When you are ready to eat them, peel the eggs and gently cut them in half lengthwise. Carefully pop the yolks out.
  6. Add mustard, tabasco sauce and vinegar to taste inside the egg white.
  7. Return the now gray egg yolk to its place but upside down.
  8. Eat the eggs by placing an entire half in your mouth in one bite.
  9. Then rinse your mouth with snaps. Skål! Cheers!

Danish pickled eggs

If you like slightly salted hard boiled eggs with mustard and tabasco sauce flavouring then I’m sure you’ll love these, because that’s exactly what they taste like. Ha!

I’m glad I tried something new this Easter since the coconut macaroon birds nests I also made for afternoon coffee, I had made 3 years ago. I’ll be posting the recipe for that soon too.

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Danish, Easter, Eggs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

