Fresh Fruit Pavlova

It’s been about a year since I made Pavlova and as hard as I try I still can’t remember which recipe I used. I found 2 recipes I wanted to make when my sister asked me to make 1 or 2 for my niece’s confirmation party. One was a vanilla Pavlova with a little lemon in the meringue, whipped cream and fresh fruit and berries. The other was chocolate flavoured with a hint of coffee in the cream and cherry sauce on top. Both were delicious and popular!!

This time I’ll post the fruit and berry Pavlova recipe. I read through some different recipes I found on Pinterest and then did my own thing.

Fresh Fruit and Berry Pavlova

Fresh Fruit Pavlova

Ingredients

  • 8 egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp vinegar, optional (I used apple cider vinegar)
  • 2 1/2 cups white sugar (I think 2 cups would have been enough.)
  • 2 tsp vanilla sugar
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 4 tsp cornstarch
  • 1-litre whipping cream
  • selection of fruit and berries, I used bananas, strawberries, blueberries, red and green grapes  (I used around 2 bananas, 400 gms strawberries, 300 gms blueberries, 250 gms grapes)

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 150 degrees C.
  2. Beat egg whites with vinegar in a clean dry bowl until the soft peak stage. The vinegar helps to stabilise the whites. (When you pick up the hand mixer the egg white should form peaks that flop over.)
  3. Beat in sugar one tablespoon at a time until all the sugar is dissolved. (If you rub some egg white between your fingers it should not be gritty.)
  4. Fold in vanilla sugar, lemon juice and cornstarch.
  5. Draw a 10 inch/25 cm circle on a piece of baking paper to use as an outline. Gently scoop the meringue into the circle trying to build up a slanted edge (kind of like a volcano) since the whole thing will puff up.
  6. Once it is ready, put it in the oven and turn it down to 115 degrees. Bake for around 3 hours.
  7. Let it cool off in the oven after turning it off. If using the next day, just leave it in the oven overnight since it is airtight.
  8. Just before serving whip the cream.
  9. Slice and layer the bananas on first, then cover them with whipped cream so they don’t turn brown. Slice or cube the other fruit and dump it (literally) on top of the cream. It’s ready to serve.

I read that it’s not such a good idea to make such a big Pavlova since the chances of it cracking are very high. It cracked when I tried to move it off the paper but that is because I forgot to move it until I had already put the cream on it…oops!! Once the cream is on no one can see the cracks to don’t worry if it happens to you.

fresh fruit Pavlova

When you bring your Pavlova out everyone will be impressed so give it a try.

 

About everyvariety

I find that being aware of looking for opportunities to enjoy life through as many senses as possible creates strong impressions of pleasure that enhance life's experiences. As with any other creation, there are many aspects to making an enjoyable experience. There should be memorable stimulation caused by texture, smell, color, taste, and visual presentation. This blog follows my journey as I learn to create, through following other's recipes, adapting recipes and creating my own. My love for all cooking, but mostly baking, comes from the joy I feel when sharing what I make with others and the satisfaction of a job well done. I am not naturally gifted when it comes to cooking but I find the experience meditative and creative, thus mentally relaxing. Please join me in my quest for making eating a beautiful experience.
This entry was posted in Banana, Cream, Meringue, strawberries and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

How do you like it?

